1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ok, quick- whats the best thermal grease?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kerri Ann, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    is there any certain kind that works better than others?
     
  2. suesman

    suesman

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Well as far a being better than all the rest I won't say, but I was using the Cheapo brand from Radio Shack & while it worked good. I switched to Arctic Silver 3 and dropped almost a full 8c off the cpu temp alone. Lost some 3-4c off my video card temps as well.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've generally had good luck with Artic Silver also, but you do have to be careful with it. It's conductive, and getting sloppy with it might cause you a problem. :)
     
  4. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Arctic Silver is great, but maybe not a full 8 degrees C great on most systems The tube is small but it will last through many builds if you use the proper amount.

    This video gives a good idea of the amount to use and how to apply it: http://www.casetest.de/download/ApplyingArcticSilver-wmv.wmv
     
  5. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    another vote for artic silver 11.5 degrees over the stuff from the mobo manufactures
     
  6. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    I'd say Artic Silver3 is not only good, but just as cheap as generic.

    3gm tube of Artic Silver3 runs around $6, does probably in the area of 15-25 installations depending on the installers sloppiness.
    Not exact since I bought 2 tubes and am still useing both tubes depending on which is closer to me when I build.

    Squeeze a small (1/4 size of a BB) dallop on the sink in the area the CPU will contact, rub it in to fill the microscopic gaps in the sink. Then squeeze another dallop on the CPU's core and smooth to less than paper thin with a razor blade. Mount sink, Wallah.

    Most people over do it with both Artic Silver and the Generic paste. Myself included, for at least a few years. The amount I use gets less with every build. All you need is enough to fill in the microscopic gaps.
     
  7. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    thanks to all of you for your recommendations.
    looks like i need a tube of that!
     
  8. Tasty Danish

    Tasty Danish

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    ocz ultra II runs a little cooler than as3 and is non conductive
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168985

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice