1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Old Harddrive isnt the same as New one??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dagonpaul, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dagonpaul

    dagonpaul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Hey everyone, I just bought a new computer and was hoping to set up my old harddrive as a slave so that I can get all of my programs and such on the new system easily. However it looks like the connections in my new computer for the harddrive are different than the ones in my old computer... What Ive gathered online is that my new computer has a SATA drive, and my old one is a SCSI drive... This makes sense to me being that what seems to be missing from my new computer is the SCSI cord. Am I right so far?

    So my question is... can i still install my old hardrive? It looks like I have a connection on my motherboard (in the same place as my old computer) for a SCSI cable... however I want to be sure before I go an mess anything up here.

    Any recommendations? And please if you can refresh my mind on the Jumper situation for my old drive for it to be a slave....

    Thanks!
     
  2. nmkyourface

    nmkyourface

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    what brand model is your old hard drive
     
  3. dagonpaul

    dagonpaul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Forgot all that info

    My old hardrive is a Western Digital WD800

    and my new computer is a DELL Inspiron 531 with AMD processor.
     
  4. dagonpaul

    dagonpaul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    I just noticed that the connections that go to the power supply are different.

    My old harddrive has a 4 prong plug while the new one (and all the components in it) connect by a slim piece.
     
  5. nmkyourface

    nmkyourface

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
  6. dagonpaul

    dagonpaul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    The pictures you showed me are accurate. However I do not understand how I can hook up my old harddrive to my new computer. There are no molex plugs coming from my powersupply... nor a scsi cable. Assuming it is safe to use a scsi cable to connect my old harddrive to the open place on my motherboard... how to I power it?
     
  7. nmkyourface

    nmkyourface

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
  8. dagonpaul

    dagonpaul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    that works for me.

    now... since i have it powered. can i be garunteed that using a scsi cable from my slave to the motherboard wont mess anything us, since all my drives at the moment are using sata?
     
  9. nmkyourface

    nmkyourface

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    yes the IDE and SATA devices can be used at the same time. you should be able to get all your old documents with ease
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597584

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice