1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Old Tech needs New Advice!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jsmith24, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jsmith24

jsmith24 Thread Starter

Hello all!

I worked as a tech/builder/analyst/network guru, etc., for about 15 years, but I've been out of the loop now for about four years and need some advice on my upgrade. Here's what I'd like to be able to do:

- DVD and HD (BluRay) video editing and authoring (just got a new HD camcorder)
    - Some gaming, though I am NOT even close to being a heavy gamer
    - Photo editing
    - Typical daily stuff (Office, etc.)

I know that the last two things can be done on just about any machine, even lowest of the low, but I'm more concerned with being able to edit video and properly burn DVD and BluRay stuff.

Here are my current system specs:
    [*]OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    [*]Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
    [*]RAM: 1 GB Dual Channel
    [*]Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS , 256 Mb
    [*]Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., A8N5X

So, what I'd like to know from the more informed minds out there are these:

- What's going to be the better processor - AMD or Intel? I don't want to go too high end, so I've focused on something with specs like the i3 core.

- What kind of video card do I really want?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Jack

2. Haseo34

Haseo34

Well personally for me I would lean more towards AMD. You can get decent cheap AMD Phenom x2 (Dual core) That actually can be unlocked to use 2 Extra Cores, making it a quad. But other than that, I would suggest these..for what your doing

Processor:

Video Card
    A Cheaper Card Would be THIS