Old Windows XP Aspire One doesn't connect to internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AspireHelp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
21
Hi, I have an Acer Netbook running windows XP. The model is ZG5. Please note that replacing it or buying a new one is not an option.

The problem is that when I connect to the wireless network, it says it's connected but whichever browser I use tells me it's not. I think the driver may be the issue but I dont know how to update it. I have a USB I can use to download and install drivers.

I found many threads on the topic but they are all outdated. Please help.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,458
There is no longer any supported up-to-date browsers for Windows XP SP3, so many websites will no longer load.
The Mozilla Firefox 52.9.0 ESR browser recently stopped being updated, but it still works to some extent with Windows XP SP3.
The most current version is 60.3.0, but it only works with Windows 7 and newer.

What is the exact SNID number and serial number on your "Acer ZG5 AOA150" netbook?
https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,734
can you provide the information in an IPCONFIG /ALL command from Command Prompt?
 

AspireHelp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
21
There is no longer any supported up-to-date browsers for Windows XP SP3, so many websites will no longer load.
The Mozilla Firefox 52.9.0 ESR browser recently stopped being updated, but it still works to some extent with Windows XP SP3.
The most current version is 60.3.0, but it only works with Windows 7 and newer.

What is the exact SNID number and serial number on your "Acer ZG5 AOA150" netbook?
https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support

-----------------------------------------------------------------
LUS080B09290411C9o2500
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
22,227
Close to the bottom of the 2nd screen it says
Ethernet adapter Wireless network Connection
Media Disconnected

If you have a switch to turn on wireless, make sure it is on. If it is on and it still says disconnected, then there is a hardware problem. The device is either bad or needs to be reseated.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,381
Post the IPCONFIG /ALL screen again please but this time don't blank out the stuff in the middle, we need to see it and it's not a security risk to show it.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,926
Can I send in provate?
No. Keep help on the public forum.


I don't want my IP stored on here.
ca

Why? Nobody cares what private IP subnet your router is using on your LAN. I, FWIW, am using 192.168.2.x. Or are you connecting "directly" to the internet with your public IP without using a router? If so, that is quite unusual and you should have stated that at the beginning.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top