Older Toshiba Laptop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

drifter47tx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
7
I have a toshiba laptop Tectra 720 CDT. Can anyone tell me how to get into the BIOS when first booting up? I would like to install Win98 but I can't get the CD to boot up. Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
There are three general ways to access the BIOS of a Toshiba Laptop:

When you power up, hold down the Escape key, you're asked to press F1.
You can click on Start -> Programs and locate your Toshiba Utilities and Click on Hardware Setup Options.
If this cannot be found under Programs, the utility may be hidden and placed in your Control Panel for security purposes. Click Start -> Settings -> Control Panel and click on Toshiba Hardware Setup or H W Setup.
You may also be able to access the Setup by going to your MS DOS Prompt and type C:\> Tsetup.

Cut and paste from here:

http://www.cardscan.com/techdocs/laptop/71002.asp
 

drifter47tx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
7
I cleared my harddrive on my Toshiba Tectra 720 CDT laptop. I need to reinstall Win98 but I can't get the disc to load, I keep getting the message Missing Operating System. How do I get the Win98 disc to load?
Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Did you set the boot order to cdrom first? What does the top of the Win98 cd say?
 

drifter47tx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
7
It won't let me change the boot order, or I'm not doing it right one. I don't have a floppy on this laptop.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Whoops! I think you'll have to take the drive out and get the BIOS setup files put on the hard disk along with boot files.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
What do you mean it won't let you change the boot order....are you using the up down arrow keys? Sometimes you have to get to the line and press enter to highlight it.....experiment around.
 

drifter47tx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
7
I can change the boot sequence from HDD-FDD. I've tried it both ways, HDD-FDD and FDD-HDD but it still won't boot up the Win98 cd.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Then you don't have the option in your bios to boot from the cdrom. Since you don't have a floppy drive, I think you're pretty much SOL unless you can get your hands on one.

I'm guessing that if you boot to a c: prompt, you can't change to the d: drive? Or can you even get to a c: prompt? How did you 'clear' your hard drive????
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,278
When I ran into this problem I took the IDE hard drive out and bought a $3.99 laptop ide -> desktop ide hard drive adapter put the laptop ide drive in my desktop machine, formatted it and sys'd it on the desktop, dropped the win98 directory off the cd-rom to the drive and put it back into the laptop and installed off the hd.

Good Luck
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top