oldest peice of junk

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xtreampb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
189
i think that i have the oldest HDD. it is bout 5 inch. thick. it is as long as the reg HDDs. what do yall think i am going to try to take a pic and post it up here.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
I think there are lots of older drives around. I have an old 5 megabyte Seagate drive in one of my boxes here, full high 5.25" drive.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
268
a friend had one in a HP it was a maxtor called now, don't laugh "big foot"
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Leec65 said:
a friend had one in a HP it was a maxtor called now, don't laugh "big foot"
Yeah, a quantum bigfoot. I had one until I trashed it. I still worked fine but it was slow and huge. It also sounded like a tractor.

I wiped it, beat it with a hammer, and sent it to the landfill. The thing was at least 5 inches wide and 8 inches long. In it's day it was a beast. ;)
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
I have a Radioshack COCO-2 that came with 16KB RAM and I voided the warranty seal the day I received it to upgrade to 64MB RAM (that was about $1 hundred cheaper than buying the 64MB version). It has two 160MB floppy drives, a 1200 baud serial printer, a cassette recorder, and I bought a couple of extras like EDTASM+, OS-9, and a few other cartridges I don't remember. It still works except I had to replace the 13 inch color TV that is 25 years old. I figure I put about $2000+ into it.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Still have a Quantum Bigfoot 6GB that refuses to die, It was an upgrade to my 1.2GB maxtor that replace the 500MB ??? that replaced the ???? that replaced the ???? If only I had the money back that I spent on pairs of parity RAM.
 

xtreampb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
189
sorry guys... i feel relly stupid

i forgot that my camra is compatable only with a FAT-32... the OS that i installed is a NTFS:(

I DELEATED MY KERNELS........AGAIN:eek:

lucky me i knew how to fix them this time :D

i got to get a new camra
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
JohnWill, is that Seagate an MFM drive or an early IDE drive? I still have my Seagate 5Mb MFM Drive and MFM ISA controller in Storage. Last time I plugged it into my 286 machine it was still working with Dos 3.0 and WordStar and Multimate4 on it. That was one expensive drive at the time too.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
That's what I got--the bigfoot. It was purchased in a Compaq in 1999 and it STILL works. I use it to test gear. I have to use Damn Small Linux or Xubuntu with it so I don't die of boredom waiting for it to open a program!!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
I thought a 2gb IDE 3.5" hard drive I have in one PC here was old..

A pic of those 'tractors' would be interesting. With soemthing to scale it to such as a CD or a modern day hard drive.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
2,247
Leec65 said:
a friend had one in a HP it was a maxtor called now, don't laugh "big foot"
IBM Aptiva had the Quantum Big Foot. When I got rid of it the darn thing was still running, but it sounded like it was grinding itself to bits.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
dustyjay said:
JohnWill, is that Seagate an MFM drive or an early IDE drive? I still have my Seagate 5Mb MFM Drive and MFM ISA controller in Storage. Last time I plugged it into my 286 machine it was still working with Dos 3.0 and WordStar and Multimate4 on it. That was one expensive drive at the time too.
The Seagate I have is an MFM drive. I have an old ISA controller for it, but no ISA machines to plug it into. :)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
Naaaa... 2GB OLD?

My first HD was a 20MB (megabyte) HD that was external for my Amiga 1000 - the 2mb RAM expansion with SCSI adaptor (about the size of 3 normal DVD cases) which ran a cable to metal box which housed the 3.5" drive. I paid about $200 for the used 20mb drive.

My Amiga 3000 (1992 when I bought it) came with a 100mb drive and I added a used 50mb for the mac emulator.

5" drive... Compaq was perhaps the last to use these in consumer PCs - for LOW-end models - as recently as 1996~97.

There were 8" Hard drives.... and LARGER(but these were for servers)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top