1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Omfg Winxp > Winvista Netwrk'n Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Vista11, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vista11

    Vista11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Ok this has gone on for days before I finally have posted here for help.
    On the computer that I am posting from now I am running.
    WinXp Professional Service Pack II

    I have a Broadband ADSL Internet Connection on this computer
    I also have a Toshiba A200 Laptop running Windows Vista 32Bit.

    I want to network these computers together I have a "Belkin ADSL2 + Modem with Wireless G Router" that is connected to this computer (Windows Xp)
    I can use the internet on it.

    Now I want my A200 Laptop to be able to connect to this Computer using its inbuilt wireless capabilities through the Belkin Router.

    I get problem after problem I cant see my Windows Xp computer on the network window when scanning for it on my Laptop.
    I turn my wireless on by using the switch on the front of my laptop.
    It can see my Belkin ADSL Modem/Router but It cannot see my Computer. Before you ask I downloaded and installed the LLTD Protocol for my Windows Xp so my computer can be seen on my Laptops Network Map but it still can't even after multiple restarts.

    On my Laptop I am connected to Belkin54g on an "Unidentified Network" with (Limited Access). If I go into Network and Sharing Center my Network map looks like this

    Vista Computer --<!>-- Unidentified Network --<X>-- Internet
    My signal strength is Excellent because my Laptop is right next to my Wireless router.
    And "Unidentified Network" is set to Private.

    But the problem is I cant see my Windows Xp Comp on the network, I cant share between the computers & most important of all I cant share my internet connection so my Vista computer cannot use the internet.

    I cant see my Vista computer on my WinXp
    I cant see my WinXp on my Vista Computer
    I cant share my internet connection
    I've tried resetting the i.p address multiple times it does it and then says it hasn't resolved the problem.
    All my internet settings, i.p, deafult gateway, subnet mask are all set to Obtain Automatically.

    I don't really care if my Windows Xp Computer cannot see my Vista Laptop. But I DO care that my Vista Computer cannot see my Windows Xp even when LLTD has been installed.

    I need to get the internet working on my Laptop using this router please can someone give me some help with this?
    Thanks so much in advance!!!!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    On each of the comptuers, please do this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Didy

    Didy

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    My Vista laptops, ( Two HP's and a MAc with Parrallels), can see each other and access the internet, but none of the Vistas can see the XP Box and the XP Box cannot see any Vistas. The Workgroup name is the same for all Computers. FIle Sharing is enabled, yadda, yadda...

    Gary
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For one of the Vista machines and the XP machine, please post this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following two commands:

    nbtstat -n

    ipconfig /all

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. Didy

    Didy

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    <snip>
    Content removed by Poster
    </snip>
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt for the following commands.

    PING each remote computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. Open a command prompt as described above and type.

    PING <ip address>
    or
    PING <computer name>

    Where:
    <ip address> - is the x.x.x.x IP address
    <computer name> - is the computer name

    A failure to PING is almost always a firewall configuration issue. Any failure to PING needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

    Note: You can obtain the IP address and computer name of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG /ALL. This should work for any Windows version. The IPCONFIG /ALL display will provide a wealth of useful information for debugging your network connection.

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic.

    All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

    If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

    While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
     
  7. Didy

    Didy

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the help...

    I ended up getting rid of Norton Internet Security on the Vista machines.
    I then went to GRC, and checked my security settings.
    All is well...
    I haven't been too impressed with Norton anyway... it's a resource hog...

    Gary
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're sure right about Norton, I've been free of them for years. :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593498

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice