1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

On Board Parity Error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Backspace, May 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    I have an older computer that I need some information off the Hrddrive. I hooked it up and it booted but stopped. The message on the screen is:
    ON BOARD PARITY ERROR-
    ADDR (HEX) = (OOOO:0002)
    SYSTEM HALTED

    I saw a similar post but it did not answer my question. What is the problem? Never seen this one before. THX.
     
  2. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Hi and welcome to TSG,

    Will the computer boot?? Which windows?
     
  3. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    This system was built in 1988. I am pretty sure when I quit using it, it had Windows 95 on it. But I may be wrong.... it may be Windows 3.1. Maybe I have something plugged in wrong? Believe me, I cannot contact the manufaturer... probably dead or out of business after this much time. Maybe I will just have to marry the Harddrive into a newer system. Huh? I just want the info from the HD.... I have newer systems running already. What are my options?
    Thx
     
  4. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Omg I know absolutely nothing about windows 3.1,,You may be able to retrieve files that are readable but I'm just not sure with that system. That is a ram fault error and being that old you will have simm type ram, (probably) That means that you have 2 sticks that match. You will not be able to narrow the problem to just one stick. I would remove 2 that were side by side and see if it will boot,,if not remove 2 more that are side by side and reinstall the first 2. I hope you have at least a set of 4 sticks.

    I will search for the steps for file recovery, if the ram removal and reinstallation does'nt help repost. We will be waiting.
     
  5. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    Hmmmm. Well, maybe the thing to do is install the HD to another system. Would that work? I just don't want to spend time trying to get this dino running.
     
  6. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy there NewbieNerd...

    [tsg=welcome][/tsg]

    Parity errors are usually associated with memory...

    Option 1) Like you said slave it to another system, but first see if you can go into the BIOS on the older pc and get the specs on the hard drive, because I think that when you slave it to the newer system it will not see the format...

    Option 2) Can you clear the CMOS ( it's usually a jumper setting on the mother board ), and then see if it will boot...
     
  7. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    Oh Boy, now you are way over my head. As you see, my TSG handle is "NewbieNerd". When it boots up I heard a beep and then 3 beeps. I know Nada to find the Bios. Sorry to be so numb. You are right though.... if I don't know about the system on there.... can't do much. Aye?
     
  8. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    You can do lots,,,don't cut yourself short,,The thing about newbies is that sometimes we are expected to understand what you see,,when in fact we are as blind as bats,,,,,but we are resouceful bats :D

    So from the very beginning of pushing the power button decribe exactly what happens and after this I will watch, I have the
    feeling that Jedi has an idea or some experience.
     
  9. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Well...

    Not knowing the BIOS that you have, try powering down the pc, and when powering up start tapping the Delete key, and see if you can get into the BIOS...
     
  10. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    Hit button... Bios 386 1989 Megatrends, inc

    it's an oldie goldie! May be worth something on eBay as an ANTIQUE! Is that the Bios info you needed?
     
  11. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Well...

    What you really need to do is to is to get into the BIOS and record the hard drive specs, should be under the menu "Standard Settings"...

    And yes it is an "Oldie Goldie" that's why you need to record the specs for the hard drive....

    Then when you slave it to the new system to copy the files, you can set the BIOS to the specs of the old hard drive in the new system, that way the new system will see the the drive and format...

    I hope this explains what I'm trying to say...( getting kind of drunk here, and not really thinking clearly... :D )
     
  12. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
    It's possible that the parity error results from the bios having the wrong setup in it for the memory (and probably other bad info). The likely reason for this is that the cmos backup battery is dead. You will probably have to replace that to get it to hold it's settings and then set the bios up correctly.
     
  13. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    NewbieNerd, 2 questions and they we will know which way to go.
    1. Do you want to "save" this system, or do all you want is the files off the old hard drive??
    2. Have you ever opened up a pc and done any work inside?

    If you want to save the system there are some of us that still remember Windows 3.1

    If you are just interested in the files on the HD, then we can help you set it up as a second drive in your newer pc so you can read it and extract the files.
     
  14. Backspace

    Backspace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    First Name:
    Lyn
    1. Do you want to "save" this system,

    NO!!!

    .....or do all you want is the files off the old hard drive??

    YES!!! There are some IMPORTANT files I need on there or I would not even care.
    ______________

    2. Have you ever opened up a pc and done any work inside?

    YES!!!
    And that is just what I did last night. I got impatient and opened it up and removed the HD and scrapped the rest. What cute little memory chips..... so my question is NOW... can this marriage be saved? I might have to go to councelling FOR SURE !

    I think IMM might have been on to something with the dead battery thing. BUT..... too late for that now... my hastey demolition took care of that option.:eek:
    ______________

    3. If you want to save the system there are some of us that still remember Windows 3.1

    Here's an idea.....
    I have a sweet running little 486 that hasWIN95 on it. Can the HD be installed alongside in that machine and accessed? WIN95 would read the files? I can get it in there physically but will need help on hooking it up right. Can 2 HD's be in there and this one be as if it was 'Drive O" for OLD?

    Is this an option now or have I already shot myself in the foot....?? I sure don't want to put the Dino Humpty Dumpty back together again.

    Sure appreciate the help so far!:)
     
  15. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Yes the marriage can be saved and we'll try to make the counceling as painless as possible.

    OK, here's the plan. We install your ole HD in the other pc as a secondary or slave drive.
    Since you boot from the original primary drive, we don't care what OS is on the old HD.
    All you want to do is be able to drag and drop the old files onto the C: drive for this pc.

    If you look at the back of a HD there is a power connection, data connection, and several pins that determine if the drive is to be a master or slave device (the should be labeled) and a black plastic "sleeve" or jumper that provides the electrical connection between the pins. You want to move this jumper to the slave position before you start.

    CAUTION: electronic parts are sensitive to electrostatic discharge. Before you start touch the metel case to bleed off any static charge your body (hands) has.

    Once you have the old HD jumpered as a slave, open up the pc you are going to install it in. (Do I have to tell you to unplug it first? )
    Look around inside for several things. It should mount right under (beside) your existing HD. Is there a power connector that will reach the secondary drive? IF not you can probably get a Y pigtail from the old pc. There is a gray data ribbon cable connected to your existing HD and about 6" back there should be another connector on the cable that is not used, that will be the connector for the old HD. The connectors are generally keyed so they only go in one way. The faint red strip down one edge of the gray cable is pin 1. When you physically mount the old HD in the case, make sure pin 1 on the drive lines up with the red stripe.

    OK, once you know where everything is, physically mount the old HD in the case. Connect the power and data cables and you should be ready to go. Depending on how comfortable you are with the idea and if there are any smaller children around, you can leave the case off for now. Connect everything up and power up. The BIOS should automatically detect the second drive and assign it to D: Sorry, not O for OLD.

    Assuming that the BIOS detected the second HD and assigned it to D, you should be ready to go. Now comes the HARD part....moving all the files to some logical place on the C: drive.

    If you have any questions, just ask.

    Let me know if this works so I can add "marriage counseling: to my resume. LOL
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/135200

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice