1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

On startup freezes on the XP loading screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by MGB2000x, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    [​IMG]Hi Everyone,

    Been a while since i've been on here as my comp has been behaving itself! Tried to turn it on this morning to check some addresses of carparks and as soon as it reaches the loading screen it freezes.

    I turned it off by holding down the power button and went enter safemode and hopefully recover the system. I noticed that the writing which is usually black and white in safemode has some orange in it while highlighted.

    Dunno if that's any help but I'd really appreciate some help as I am utterly clueless! (y)
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    Did you try system restore in safe mode?
    But it sounds like a possible video card fault.
    Your screenshot has not loaded.

    If you feel able to..
    Check inside the Pc.

    Turn the Pc off - leave the plug in to maintain the earth.
    Once you have opened the case.
    Touch the metal case to discharge any static.

    Remove any dust - do not use a vacumm cleaner, too much static.
    Check that all fans are free of dust and will rotate.

    Remove Ram - Video cards etc and then Reseat in the slots.
    But first - clean the copper connections of the Ram - Video cards with a pencil eraser.
    If more than one Ram stick - use just one at a time, as a test.

    Put the case back on the Pc - and see if it will boot to the desktop.
     
  4. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Cheers for the reply blues_harp28 :)

    I used system restore a few times and all seems to working fine now. I'll have a jolly good clean inside as soon as I can. It's amazing just how much dust gets in there!

    Cheers again!
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    Good idea - dust and dirt will cause overheating etc.
    ;)
     
  6. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Hi again,

    Was all giddy thinking it was some random problem that resolved itself!

    The screen started going black and then returning intermittently so I rebooted and it's back to getting stuck on the windows loading screen. So i went to safe mode and rolled back my driver update and that didn't help.

    So I thought maybe a clean like blues_harp28 said may do the trick. Still stuck on the windows loading screen.

    How easy is it to install a new graphics card? I've currently got an Nvidia Geforce 7600 gs. Is it just a case of taking one out and putting the new one in?
     
  7. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    Check in device manager - in safe mode if you have to.
    All drivers do not load in safe mode - so it may or not help.
    Check Device Manager
    Click Start button>run>type
    devmgmt.msc

    Check for any yellow exclamation marks.
    A driver may need updating.

    Changing the Video card is easy - Google How to change a video card - and you can watch a video on how to do it.

    Try in safe mode.
    Right click My Computer>Open
    Right click - Local disk - should be C:
    Click Properties.

    Tools>Error checking.
    Tick both boxes
    Click start.
    It may say it cannot scan, do you want it to scan at the next start up..
    Click Yes - restart Pc.
     
  8. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Evening all,

    Still got the same problem however it did work fine for a few hours today. No exclamation marks in device manager.

    No errors on disk either. I think it's either the graphics card, the psu, or if both! The card can be noisy and I think the psu is at it's limit powering this card. I can't find any details on the power the card requires though, I've currently got an Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS. I've also seen it listed as an HP ASUS 7600 GS.

    Is there any way to check the output of the PSU?
     
  9. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
  10. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks again blues_harp28 . I've got a friend who's a bit of an enthusiast and he's getting a psu tester soon so I'll let him have a go.

    With my current psu, 300W max, do you have any suggestions for a suitable replacement graphics card?
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    No - I am no expert when it comes to the inside of a Pc.
    If need be, when the time comes, I will ask a Hardware expert to help you.
    ;)
     
  12. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    For the past few weeks all was well again no problems. I noticed that an extra process was running, nvsvc32.exe.

    If uninstall the graphics card then windows will boot up but only display in 16 bit colour. If I alter the display settings the monitor goes to standby.

    Any ideas what I could do? I've got a replacement card coming soon but I'd like to know if there is anything else I could try.

    Cheers again (y)
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    Hi, nvsvc32.exe is part of the NVIDIA graphics card drivers and if the drivers are not installed - 16 bit colour is the best that you will get.
    A new Video card with the latest drivers, should solve your problem - or for now going to Nvidia website and let them scan your system and then install suggested drivers for the installed Video card.

    Was your friend able to check the PSU?
     
  14. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    He has a PSU tester and all is fine with it. At least that's what he told me after dismantling and reassembling some bits.

    Is it necessary to use a driver cleaner when installing a new graphics card? I've seen arguments for and against them on the Nvidia forum
     
  15. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,253
    This is Driver Cleaner Professional - a paid for program?

    Never felt the need to use a driver cleaner - In fact, I would not use it.
    What was the final verdict on the Nvidia forum?
     
  16. MGB2000x

    MGB2000x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    It was a mixed bag of comments. Some said that they couldn't get games to work without using a driver cleaner first and others insisted that it was unnecessary. There were a few suggesting it could do damage.

    I'll try without and see what happens

    Cheers again
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - startup freezes loading
  1. dudsieg
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    280
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029769