On Toshiba Laptop, first power up fails

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

eagle65

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
8
I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop running Windows 7 with Norton 360 and Google. Everything was running good until about a month ago. Now when I power up, it goes through the Toshiba 'screens', and then brings up the Windows 'flag;'.
THEN - The screen goes blank, and I cannot do anything: No keys work including Cntrl/alt/delete. It is simply locked up. So I do a manual power down, power up again, it brings up the screen about Safe mode, I select to come up in normal mode and everything works good from there on (except performance isn't good, but I'm looking into that).
Not being an expert on PCs (my work was with the S32, S34, S36 and AS/400) I tend to get stymied by these problems. I appreciate being able to post this. Clay
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Try turning the power supply on a few minutes before the machine and see if that makes a difference.
Either the power supply is dying or the motherboard is since the symptoms are of bad capacitors or a bad connection that is making when warm.
 

eagle65

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
8
Dave - Thank you for your quick post. I will try your suggestions. Clay
 

donetao

Banned
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
688
If worst comes to worst, you can save your data and restore back to factory. I have a Toshiba lap top and have used the hidden partition to restore to factory before. How long are you waiting for Windows to boot?? I would wait at least 5 minutes to see if it will complete booting into Windows!!
 

eagle65

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
8
Gary - Thanks for the suggestions. I will first try waiting longer for Windows to boot up. Then look at the other idea. Clay
 

donetao

Banned
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
688
Slow boot ups can be caused by many things. There are tools that you can use to check your hardware.
You could type Memory Diagnostics in the search. That will shut your PC down and check your memory!
You can use seatools to test your HD. WE first have to see if it's hardware or software causing your problem.
Do you have any external hardware plugged in like a external HD.
 

eagle65

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
8
Gary - Thanks again. When I power up, I don't have any external drives, flash drives, etc. plugged in. I do use them but plug them in after I'm powered up. Clay
 

donetao

Banned
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
688
Ok Test your Memory and your HD like I suggested in the post I made earlier.
Lets eliminate as much hardware as possible, Then we'll think about saving data and restoring back to factory as a last resort!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top