1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

On Windows Server 2012 R2 DHCP

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Islam123, Aug 8, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Islam123

    Islam123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    On Windows Server 2012 R2 DHCP

    I have a network in 128.19.4.1 -- 128.19.4.254 but now all IP address has been assigned to all system but i have 400 system i.e i want to increase IP address range so that all 400 systems can get IP address and internet and all should be able to communicate each other

    How to resolve this issue? Please let me know if required more information.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,953
    Why are you using publicly routeable addresses in your internal private network?

    Why are you looking to create such a big broadcast network. Having 400 presumably Windows clients all on the same layer 2 network is just asking for trouble.
     
  3. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,935
    You need a range 128.18.4.1/23. That gives you 512 (510 usable) addresses from 128.19.4.1 to 128.18.5.255. Your subnet mask will be 255.255.254.0.

    But as zx10guy said, "Why are you using publicly routeable addresses in your internal private network?"

    The main reason you don't is that you will not be able to get to those addresses that are actually public on the Internet. What's worse: You will not know when you need to. Stuff will just not work.

    Never use public IP address on a private network unless they are actually assigned to you.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1175937

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice