1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

one button backup program?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by jtn3833, Feb 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jtn3833

    jtn3833 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    450
    I'm looking for a program that will perform a differential backup of several selected folders in my computer with a single button click. I know many enclosures have this function but I'm sure there's a program out there too.

    Any recommendations?
    JTN
     
  2. Spider111

    Spider111

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    You can execute scheduled differential backups of the certain folders using True Image so even one button click won't be necessity.
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    I think the link Spider posted is incorrect ... that's Acronis Disc Director
    Acronis True Image is here ... http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/

    The Trial download is fully functional for 14 days .. so you can take a look at it.
    It'll also backup your operating system .. as well as Data and Folders

    I got my Acronis True Image here ...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...+image&Submit=ENE&N=0&Ntk=all&Go.x=17&Go.y=31

    Last time I used one of those "one touch externals" it messed up my computer... never again.
    I now get these ... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817123021
    and install my own HDs in them.
    More gigs for the buck this way ... and I can change the HDs in them.
     
  4. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, if you know the source and destination, it's pretty simple to create a command line for many backup applications that would perform the backup with a single button. Of course, you could do what I do and schedule the backups, that's the zero button backup option. :D
     
  6. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    But you'd have to average the total clicks to make those over all the days you use it, so it's not 0. :p
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What is 0 averaged over 10 days? How about 20 days? Unless you're using the new math, it's always 0. :p:p
     
  8. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    It's not 0 averaged over 10 days. It's however clicks it took to make it in the first place averaged over 10 days. ;)
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I let someone else create the backup job. :p Besides, we were talking about the effort to run the job. ;)
     
  10. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    1. Well setting it up is part of the job.

    2. Did you hire the person online? :D :D :p
     
  11. Softland

    Softland

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Actually there are. That button on the enclosure could have a command associated that would be passed to the backup program.
    Backup4all is such an example - http://www.backup4all.com/templates/online-help/options_otb.htm

    This option is not included in popular programs (acronis, retrospect) because they do direct deals with hardware producers and is more convenient for them to get such a deal than to offer this feature.
     
  12. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Whatever.....
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice