1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

One computer on network cannot connect to Internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by galaxianomiko, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. galaxianomiko

    galaxianomiko Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    I've run into a bit of a strange circumstance here, where one of the computers connected through the router suddenly cannot connect to the Internet. No one had touched the computer since last night when it was working fine, and today I'm told it was running Windows Update and restarting just before someone tried to use it. Google's not coming up with anything that works for me, so I thought I'd try here.

    This computer's running Windows XP and uses cable Internet through a router that two other computers are hooked up to. Every setting I checked was telling me that the computer was connected to a working internet connection, but no program is able to access it. Restarting the router changed nothing, nor did restarting the computer or running the diagnostic tool Internet Explorer prompted me with. This is what the IE diagnostic tool gave me:

    Last diagnostic run time: 01/09/08 16:16:12
    Gateway Diagnostic
    Gateway

    info The following proxy configuration is being used by IE: Automatically Detect Settings:Disabled Automatic Configuration Script: Proxy Server: Proxy Bypass list:
    info This computer has the following default gateway entry(ies): 192.168.0.1
    info This computer has the following IP address(es): 192.168.0.11
    info The default gateway is in the same subnet as this computer
    info The default gateway entry is a valid unicast address
    info The default gateway address was resolved via ARP in 1 try(ies)
    info The default gateway was reached via ICMP Ping in 1 try(ies)
    warn Hostname www.microsoft.com could not be resolved (Error code 0x2afc). Could be either gateway or DNS issue
    action Automated repair: Reset network connection
    action Disabling the network adapter
    action Enabling the network adapter
    info Network adapter successfully enabled
    info This computer has the following default gateway entry(ies): 0.0.0.0
    warn There is no default gateway entry
    info Redirecting user to support call

    IP Layer Diagnostic
    Corrupted IP routing table

    info The default route is valid
    info The loopback route is valid
    info The local host route is valid
    info The local subnet route is valid
    Invalid ARP cache entries

    action The ARP cache has been flushed

    IP Configuration Diagnostic
    Invalid IP address

    info Valid IP address detected: 192.168.0.11

    Wireless Diagnostic
    Wireless - Service disabled

    Wireless - User SSID

    Wireless - First time setup

    Wireless - Radio off

    Wireless - Out of range

    Wireless - Hardware issue

    Wireless - Novice user

    Wireless - Ad-hoc network

    Wireless - Less preferred

    Wireless - 802.1x enabled

    Wireless - Configuration mismatch

    Wireless - Low SNR


    WinSock Diagnostic
    WinSock status

    info All base service provider entries are present in the Winsock catalog.
    info The Winsock Service provider chains are valid.
    info Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [TCP/IP] passed the loopback communication test.
    info Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [UDP/IP] passed the loopback communication test.
    info Provider entry RSVP UDP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test.
    info Provider entry RSVP TCP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test.
    info Connectivity is valid for all Winsock service providers.

    Network Adapter Diagnostic
    Network location detection

    info Using home Internet connection
    Network adapter identification

    info Network connection: Name=Local Area Connection, Device=Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connection, MediaType=LAN, SubMediaType=LAN
    info Ethernet connection selected
    Network adapter status

    info Network connection status: Connected

    HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Diagnostic
    HTTP, HTTPS, FTP connectivity

    warn HTTP: Error 12007 connecting to www.microsoft.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
    warn HTTPS: Error 12007 connecting to www.microsoft.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
    warn FTP (Passive): Error 12007 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
    warn HTTP: Error 12007 connecting to www.hotmail.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
    warn HTTPS: Error 12007 connecting to www.passport.net: The server name or address could not be resolved
    error Could not make an HTTP connection.
    error Could not make an HTTPS connection.
    error Could not make an FTP connection.



    And here's what ipconfig said:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : anza
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-02-00-66-3A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.9.16.30
    68.9.16.25

    I may be missing something obvious, but I'm pretty stumped.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    DHCP is disabled, not sure why you run that way.

    Let's try a stack reset.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. galaxianomiko

    galaxianomiko Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Fixed! Thank you so much JohnWill.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Glad we could help. :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/670041