1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

One programs retarded launch

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Tequila454, Sep 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    When my machine (XP 2.0 Gig and 512RAM) starts all my programs launch right away without any problems excpet for 1 of them. This programs launchs about 20 seconds later and I would like to have it launch with the others.

    The program is;

    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\ConfigFree\NDSTray.exe

    i.e. My Ethernet cards software.

    Is there a Reg. setting I can change or something else I'm missing to make this program boot with the others?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    How many programs are we talking about?

    The funny thing about single processor computers, no matter how fast the processor is it can only do one thing at a time....
     
  3. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    I keep my Startups at a minimum. I have 8 progs selected for startup via MSconfig (Zero in the startup folder) of those eight, 6 load into the tray. At start up I have 28 Processes running.

    It doesn't seem to an issue of speed or memory. It's just a long pause. What happens is I''ll boot up and everything will load just like normal at this point I full access to progs without any hesitation at all, but then about 20-30 secs later this last prog will load.

    Any ideas?
     
  4. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    If you are using cable or DSL it may be negotiating the signal and not allowing the software to startup until the signal is established. Ever try disabling it? The less stuff you have starting up the better...
     
  5. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Well, I use a cable and other TCP/ip connections prob. 50% of the time so disabling it is't an option. It has that delay regardless of the connection type.

    I wish it was that easy though...
     
  6. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167177

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice