1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

One wireless, one Ethernet, can I use both?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jjohnson13, Jan 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jjohnson13

    jjohnson13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    I have a PC with wireless connection to the Internet (PCI wireless card). Is it somehow possible to use the Ethernet port (NIC) to PROVIDE network access to a device? (such as a D-Link internet camera with ethernet connection).

    Thanks for your help!

    Johnathon
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, one way is with Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).

    If your PC is connected to a router you can bridge the wireless and wired connections instead.
     
  3. jjohnson13

    jjohnson13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply... however the PC is not connected to a router, except via the wireless connection on the PCI wireless cared. The Ethernet port, on the same PC is what I am trying to connect to the Ethernet camera.

    I can go from the PC Ethernet port to a router/switch, then to the camera if you think that would work?

    J
     
  4. bradacus

    bradacus

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Yes it should work. I am running a WiFi network and a Wired network right now. Although they are on different internet connections entirely.

    You may be able to just plug the camera into the router then find it from the WiFi network by IP address. Wish I could help further but I'm not familiar with how camera's interface in a network.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    bradacus is correct--the best solution is to connect the camera directly to your router. I was assuming that the camera is too far from the router for a cable.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can bridge the wired and wireless connections, which will provide a more seamless conneciton in your scenario.

    I agree with the others that connecting the camera directly to the router is best, but bridging the connections will get the job done.
     
  7. ahaywoode

    ahaywoode

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    That is, how do you bridge the ethernet and wireless connections?:D
     
  8. crisbastap

    crisbastap

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Yes, I'd like to know how the bridge works. I have a similar setup. I have a laptop getting a wireless internet signal from the hotel next door (they gave me permission). I have a 50' Ethernet cable going from the NIC on the laptop to a router. My PC is also connected to the router. I set up a LAN between my PC and my laptop, and I am able to get the internet connection through my laptop, into the router, and on the PC. That is all cool. What is not cool is that I cannot share files or printers between the two computers (Iaptop and PC). I was told to bridge the wireless internet connection with my local area connection. I went to Control Panel and Network Connections, and highlighted those two connections, and then selected "Bridge Connections". When I did this, the wireless connection became Not Connected, so that's where the experiment ended. I tried this multiple times, with the same result. What am I doing wrong? The same person that told me to do this also told me to disable DHCP on the router, but when I did this I also lost my internet connection. The funny thing is, at one point I WAS able to share files and printers on this LAN; I just don't remember what I did to make that happen. Can anybody help me with this? I've already got the internet connection; I just want to be able to share files and printers between these two computers. By the way, I do have ICS enabled on this LAN, but they still won't share the printer and files.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    ahaywoode, turns out that was answered by crispastap:

    There are mistakes that can be made and bugs that can be encountered, so for anybody other than jjohnson13 to get further help with your own problem(s) please start your own thread.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    To bridge connections, you simply open Network Connections, and select the first connection, then hold Ctrl and select the second connection that you want to bridge to it. Now, right click on the selected connections and choose Bridge Connections
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/793631

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice