online unstable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MRBEE

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
267
When I go online, generally after several minutes my computer will lose the connection. This is likely to happen once or twice more before I get a steady connection. Is there anything that can be done to improve this situation.

I have Windows 98, a 56k modum, and use Netscape 4.7.
 

MRBEE

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
267
Originally posted by Dark Star
Who is your ISP?

How many bps are you connected at?

DS
My ISP is peoplepc.com

My bps? I would guess that stands for "bytes per second", right? I'm sorry I can't answer your question. How/where in my computer do I find the answer?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

I'm gonna have to go from memory as I am now on 2000. At the bottom, near your clock, will be two little green computer screens. Just right click on these and open the Properties. Can't remeber fully the name, but its something like that.
Anyway, in there it should tell you the speed at which you are connecting.

Have you emptied your Tempory Internet Files lately? Tools | Internet Options. General tab. Under Delete Files, DON'T delete offline content.

Also, you may want to try the repair:

Control Panel | AddRemove. Doubleclick Microsoft Internet Explorer. Choose Repair, apply and restart.

Regards

eddie
 

MRBEE

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
267
Eddie & Dark Star,

Eddie, I did all the things you suggested -- even though I use Netscape 4.7 rather than I.E. My BPS registered the first time at 48k, the second at 46.6k.

Today, for whaever reason, my internet connection has been remarkably stable. This has been so even before going through the actions you recommended. I'll see over time whether dumping the Temp. Internet Files & running through the repair will help, and let you know.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
My guess is it is not you but your ISP.

But right click your DUN and click on properties.
Then click on the Configure... button. Set the Maximum speed to 115200. But you may already have that set that way and like I said it may just be your ISP.
 

MRBEE

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
267
I would think you are right about it being my isp except I use the same isp at my office and don't have that problem there.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Staff online

Members online

Top