1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Only 1 computer on my LAN can get online

Discussion in 'Networking' started by BNLFAN1, Jan 10, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BNLFAN1

BNLFAN1 Thread Starter

Okay, this is my first time on here so I'll try to explain this as best I can. Let's see here, I have a cable modem, a 3COM router, and four computers on my network (3 PC's: 2 running WIN 98, and one running WIN ME, and a macintosh running OS 9.1.) The other night my link light on my cable modem went off and I had no activity light. Thinking it was the ISP, I shrugged it off until the next day. The next day I got up and played around with things trying to get them to work. With no luck, I decided to call the ISP to see if the server might be down. The tech support guy told me all my settings were correct and that he thought the ethernet card in my computer was bad. Well since I was hooked through the router and none of the other computers on the LAN worked I knew it wasn't that. I continued to play around trying to figure out what was wrong, and things just kept getting weirder. To make a long, frustrating story short, here's where I'm at right now. I have ruled out that the cable modem is fine. I'm thinking it might be the router, but this is why I'm not sure. There is one cable that works, it gives me a link light on the back of the cable modem, and it gives me a light on the router no matter which port I plug it into. So, I thought by some odd chance that all the rest of my cables had somehow all the sudden gone bad and they all went bad at the same exact time...except for this one cable. So thinking it was all bad cables (except for the one) I went out and got some cables that I knew were good and decided to try those. I plugged those into the back of the cabl