1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Only google won't work!

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by rubinontheroad, May 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Google is my default search, no problems many years, the day before I let my grandchild check her gmail. (This is the only thing I can think of that was don a little different) My browser is the latest Firefox, with the “sign me in” add on, which I disabled to let her sign in. Lo and behold, now I can’t use google search or just about any site that is a Google site. I put in a search item and/or try to navigate to any google site and google times out, all the time, other google sites take a long time to load, now going on a week. I have no problems searching with the other search engines. I have no problems with any other addresses. When I try to ping google's IP address, it times out as it does with 95% of google addresses. There is no google outage and my other pc uses google with no problem. I can use my gmail and google maps with no problems, it only occurs on this machine running Vista home prem 64bit. I just don’t know what kind of setting has been changed to only effect google search. I have done a system restore and it has had no effect. And, of course, there is no way to get help from google, I guess if you are God you must go through their designated representatives. I can't believe that I'm the only one to ever have suffered from this problem. The only thing that I see that is different is recently I started to see the java script window appear with google analytics, that I have never seen before. Help, I want to continue to use google, if I can...
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    Check your HOSTS file.

    It's located in C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\Etc.

    Examine the content of your HOSTS file. We do not need to worry about any line that begins with an # because it is ignored by Windows. Also, the line "127.0.0.1 localhost" or "::1 localhost" can be safely ignored, because it is a standard entry.

    A HOSTS file can be used to control Web page to IP address associations.

    Anything else that appears in your HOSTS file without an # at the beginning, apart from the "127.0.0.1 localhost" or "::1 localhost" lines, should be viewed with suspicion when we are trying to diagnose the cause of "Page cannot be displayed" errors. The quickest way to test for HOSTS file involvement is to right click the HOSTS file, then select Rename. Add the letter X to the beginning or end of the file name and then ok your changes. By changing the name of the HOSTS file, we stop your web browser from using it, and therefore resolve any issues caused by the file.

    If still no luck,

    Please click here to download and install the HijackThis installer.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything



     
  3. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Hello Phantom 010, went to Hosts file, nothing there but 127.0.0.1 and ::1 local hosts, I renamed as you suggested anyway, No help. Below is log file from "Hijack This" Thank for any help and for trying, Stan

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 5:13:32 PM, on 5/27/2009
    Platform: Windows Vista SP2 (WinNT 6.00.1906)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Beta 4\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=en_us&c=83&bd=Pavilion&pf=cnnb
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=en_us&c=83&bd=Pavilion&pf=cnnb
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=en_us&c=83&bd=Pavilion&pf=cnnb
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\Windows\SysWOW64\blank.htm
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: NCO 2.0 IE BHO - {602ADB0E-4AFF-4217-8AA1-95DAC4DFA408} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Symantec Intrusion Prevention - {6D53EC84-6AAE-4787-AEEE-F4628F01010C} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {7FEBEFE3-6B19-4349-98D2-FFB09D4B49CA} - (no file)
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{755F9D85-E3FA-4224-B200-2A3C999FBC18}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{755F9D85-E3FA-4224-B200-2A3C999FBC18}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\..\{755F9D85-E3FA-4224-B200-2A3C999FBC18}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
    O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~2\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files (x86)\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
    O23 - Service: Andrea ST Filters Service (AESTFilters) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\stwrt64.inf_bd5387da\AESTSr64.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\Alg.exe,-112 (ALG) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\alg.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: BOCore - COMODO - C:\Program Files (x86)\Comodo\CBOClean\BOCORE.exe
    O23 - Service: COMODO Internet Security Helper Service (cmdAgent) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cmdagent.exe
    O23 - Service: Com4QLBEx - Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P. - C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP Quick Launch Buttons\Com4QLBEx.exe
    O23 - Service: @dfsrres.dll,-101 (DFSR) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\DFSR.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: hpqwmiex - Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P. - C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\Shared\hpqWmiEx.exe
    O23 - Service: HP Service (hpsrv) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\Hpservice.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: @keyiso.dll,-100 (KeyIso) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @comres.dll,-2797 (MSDTC) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\msdtc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\System32\netlogon.dll,-102 (Netlogon) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\psbase.dll,-300 (ProtectedStorage) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Recovery Service for Windows - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\SMINST\BLService.exe
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\Locator.exe,-2 (RpcLocator) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\locator.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\samsrv.dll,-1 (SamSs) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\SLsvc.exe,-101 (slsvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\SLsvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\snmptrap.exe,-3 (SNMPTRAP) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\snmptrap.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\spoolsv.exe,-1 (Spooler) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Audio Service (STacSV) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\stwrt64.inf_bd5387da\STacSV64.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\ui0detect.exe,-101 (UI0Detect) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\UI0Detect.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100 (vds) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\vds.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\vssvc.exe,-102 (VSS) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%Systemroot%\system32\wbem\wmiapsrv.exe,-110 (wmiApSrv) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\wbem\WmiApSrv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%ProgramFiles%\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe,-101 (WMPNetworkSvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe (file missing)

    --
    End of file - 6590 bytes
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    Please post a complete HijackThis log. You cannot have only 3 running processes on your computer.

    Your log seems somewhat weird, especially in the 023 Services group. A lot of missing files and paths not displayed in the usual manner.
     
  5. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    @Phantom010 - That's normal on an x64 system. Hijack This won't show running 64 bit processes, and reports 64 bit files as missing in services. Would be nice if they'd release an x64 version

    @rubinontheroad - You said pinging Google times out. When you ping www.google.com, do you get this address?
    74.125.127.99

    Try typing that address in your address bar as http://74.125.127.99, see if that takes you to the main Google search page.

    Does it work in IE8?

    Jerry
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    Thanks Outcaste, I didn't know about that. It would be nice if HJT was up to date with x64. :rolleyes:
     
  7. 00AA002F954E

    00AA002F954E

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    try purging the dns resolver cache?
    start-run -cmd:
    ipconfig /flushdns
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    The complete procedure should be:

    Start >> Run >> cmd

    ipconfig /release

    ipconfig /flushdns

    ipconfig /renew
     
  9. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Hello Phanton010, Outcaste and 00AA002F954E
    As Outcaste suggested I used IP address 74.125.127.99 and I went to Google like nothing was wrong. As Phantom and 00AA002F954E suggested I went cmd and after figuring how to elevate (I think) I ifconfig released then flushdns and then renew, I tried again to search Google and nothing had changed, the site timed out. I guess I can use the IP number address to use Google but the problem is still there. Thanks again for your continuing interest in my issue. Stan
     
  10. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Sorry I forgot to say that even though the IP adress got me to Google's search page, when I tried to search it timed out as usual...Stan
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    Other things to try:

    Click Start, then Run and type CMD in the dialogue box that appears, and then click OK. Type netsh winsock reset into the DOS window that appears.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. Click Start, then Run and type CMD, then type netsh int ip reset reset.log.
     
  12. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Sorry Phantom010 I did as instructed and no luck, thanks again for trying. Stan
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    Your log shows IE8. Are you having the same issue with this browser?

    Also, as you did with your ping, try a tracert google.com and post back the log. Maybe something is getting lost in your ISP's network.
     
  14. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    If you can reach it with the IP, but not by name, that sure sounds like a DNS/browser issue. You've already tried the winsock and tcp/ip fixes.
    Searches and other links will still fail, because they will revert to using the name instead of the number.

    Do you have a 2nd computer that is working? Or is it not working?
    Have you tried in IE8 yet?

    If you can post your DNS Server address, I can test that on my system and see if this may be an issue with your DNS Server.
    From the Command Prompt type ipconfig/all
    Post any addresses under DNS Servers.
    If you are using a router, the routers address is usually the only one listed. In that case, the DNS Server and Default Gateway addresses will be the same. Probably starting with 192.168

    In that case you would need to access the router's configuration page and find the DNS addresses that are set in the router. Usually just type the default gateway address into your browser to access it, then enter the username and password.
    The info is usually on a Status page, or WAN settings. If you can't find it, let us know the make and model of the router and we can probably track down a user guide that will tell us where it's at.

    Jerry
     
  15. rubinontheroad

    rubinontheroad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Phanton010, Yes the same issue with IE8 also I can't go to tracert google.com, it times out the same way.
    Outcaste, I am using OPENDNS (security recommendation) the DNS server addresses are 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 I am not using a router. You all are great for your interest.....Stan
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/830433