Only sound is rapid ticks

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
My son said that I had too many programs. I deleted, among many, the yellow speaker on my task bar (?) and the sound program. I thought I didn't need it since I never used it. When I realized that I was not hearing the normal sounds, I went into the help menu and tried to regain the sounds. Something went wrong because the only sound I now hear is a rapid ticking. When I open the Volume Control, the wave column shows three green bars in the Wave Balance column. Is there any way I can correct this short of using the Windows 98 SE Start-Up disc? Many thanks.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,277
Hiya

When you said that you deleted the sound program, what was that? Was it from your MSCONFIG or from Programs?

I assume you have the volume icon back in your systray. Rightclick on it and choose Open Volume Controls. Options | Properties. Tick all the boxes. Now, look back at all the volume controls. Are they all muted? If so, unmute them. Does that help?

Lets also take a look at the sound card. Go to Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Under sounds, is there a yellow !

Regards

eddie
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Greetings, eddie! Well, I deleted the sound program from Start, Programs. In an ambitious attempt to clean everything up, I also emptied my Recycle Bin. Now I know that I could have restored my sounds from there but it is too late. Per your instructions, I opened the Volume Control from the speaker icon and went to Options, Properties, and found one box un-ticked and ticked it. (It was line-in.) Found, then, that no column was muted. There are still three green bars in the Wave Balance column. There is still a rapid ticking sound. Lastly, went to Start, Control Panel, System, Device Manager and there is no yellow apostrophe. I appreciate your assistance and interest. Do you think I will have to save on my Zip-Drive and use that Windows 98 SE Start-Up floppy? :confused:
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,277
Hiya

First off, how long ago was this? You may be able to restore. Reboot to DOS and at the prompt type the following. There is a space before the /

scanreg /restore

and pick a date prior to when you did this. Don't pick the oldest date.

Now, you said you went to Programs. What was it actually called?

Have you added any RAM lately, just as the clicking started?

eddie
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Hi, eddie!

I deleted the sound program about the first of November.

When I tried the scanreg /restore, it only gave me four choices and they were all the day before today. Tried it for two days.

Don't remember what the Program was called. But it showed, to the right, the symbol of the speaker.

Haven't added any RAM yet.

The ticking sounds vary. Went into Sounds Properties and tried out the various sounds. Besides the various ticks, a window pops up and says that my "...card may be in use."

This reply has been delayed by temporary inability to access the internet from my dial-up connection. We had a small ice storm here which may have put things awry. Sorry.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,277
Okay

From what you have said, it sounds like you have just removed the icon for the program that will allow it to start when you bootup. And you didn't go through MSCONFIG, you say?

Try going to Run and typing MSINFO32. On the left go to Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list.

Its just if you delete the icon, the program may need enabling in the MSCONFIG.

eddie
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Greetings, eddic. No, I didn't use MSCONFIG. I looked at it and Win.ini has Windows sound default checked. I could not cut and paste the MSINFO32. Tried many times and it just wouldn't work. I really think I need to give up. You've done your best to undo my foolishness but it just doesn't seem to work. Thank you very much for your interest!
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Sorry about the mis-type, eddie. The one time I didn't proof-read and there's another lesson. Thanks, eddie.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,277
Thats okay :p

In MSINFO32, try this. Actions | Save As Text File. It may be under a differnet menu as I'm 2000, but look for the Save as Text File.

Then, copy the contents of the list and post it. The longest way, is to type manually, and for this all we need is, say,

EnsoniqMixer

not all the registry stuff after it. EnsoniqMixer is just an example.

Regards

eddie
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Well, eddie, we'll try this. It is saved in My Documents. I will try to attach it to this reply. When it saved, it saved the entire MSINFO32. I tried to print it but aborted because it showed that it was 99 pages long. Don't know if you'll be able to open Software Environment, Software Programs. The folder may be too big for an attachment. OK, now I just typed in msinfo32.txt where this form says "attach file" and that doesn't seem to work. OK, it is 1,262KB so it is too large to attach. Contacting Dr. Watson for advice on cut and paste. Never used "him" before and don't know how or when I'll have a reply. This is very frustrating. :(
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Hello .....

I believe in order to apply your audio system back onto your windows you will have to reinstall the audio device from your Win CD... but before you do this. Go to start/settings/control panel/system/click tab for device manager..make sure the dot is in the "view devices by type" & scroll down to the + mark by Sound, video, game controller...click the + & see whats listed under it... if the audio is there ...simply delete it let windows reinstall it when you reboot... as Plug & Play...
when you have rebooted go back to the same place & this time go to it & then to properties & update your drivers

If it is not there then you have to install it manually thru Add New Hardware in the control panel...( you have to have your windows cd for this ) then install the drivers after following thru on that.


Savvy :)
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2000
Messages
1,825
What if,
Have you tried going to add-remove programs, windows setup,multimedia. uninstall multimedia, then reinstall, you will probably need to have your windows cd to do this unless you have windows in your cabs files, dunno if it will work, but seems like it's worth a try...Rhett
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
Thanks for your interest. I did what you suggested in your first paragraph but the audio system did not return after rebooting. I opened Add New Hardware and found Sound Blaster and added it. I didn't need the Windows CD to do that. It still gives me the ticking sounds (really, repetitive sound of the first note in the chord or whatever should be sounding) and shows one green bar in the Wave Balance column.

When you said that I needed Windows CD, did you mean the Quick Restore or the Windows 98 Startup Disc? I believe that either will bring my computer back to factory condition (and lose all the nice little goodies I've added).

:confused:
 

bobbieellis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2001
Messages
16
My last post was for SavvyLady.

This is for Rhettman5. I can't find windows setup in my add/remove programs. I am using Windows 98SE. Is there another name? Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2000
Messages
1,825
bobbie, do you have the instalation disc for windows?, or just the system restore, if you have the latter, windows is probably located in c,windows,options,cabs.

If this is the case, you won't need the disc, but may have to browse to that directory when prompted. Check before you delete anything ....Rhett
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top