1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Open Multiple Hyperlinks at once in Excel 2003????

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Wolverine-Eric, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Hi Guys,

    I tried to search for an answer to this prior to posting. I did not see one.

    I have a much larger version of the following sheet. All of the website links are hyperlinks. How can I open all of them at once?

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for taking the time to answer!

    Eric
     
  2. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Anybody? Anybody?

    Bueller... Bueller... Bueller
     
  3. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,732
    Why exactly are you doing this? Should each site open in it's own Internet Explorer Window?

    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  4. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for the reply Rollin.

    I have LOTS of websites that I need to review. It will save a good bit of time if I can just highlight a bunch of cell and open all of the hyperlinks in them. I don't really care if they open as tabs or if each has it's own window. I'm just looking for a way to save time.
     
  5. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,732
    Use the code below. It assumes the first URL in the list appears in cell A2.

    Code:
    Sub OpenLinks()
    
    For Each vCell In Range("A2:A" & Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row)
    Set oIE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    oIE.Visible = True
    oIE.Navigate (vCell.Value)
    Next vCell
    
    End Sub
    If you prefer to manually highlight the range to use just replace the second line of code so that it reads

    Code:
    For Each vCell In Selection

    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  6. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Awesome! Thanks!

    Now, I've changed my mind about all of those open windows... Is there a way to do this in one window with each one opening in it's own tab?
     
  7. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    This code isn't as slick, I am sure, but I found all this on this page:
    http://www.codeproject.com/Messages/3350128/How-to-open-new-tab-in-Internet-Explorer-7-using-V.aspx

    Code:
    Public Sub goNav()
    Dim ie as Object
    
    Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    ie.visible = true
    
    Dim x as integer
    Dim links as Hyperlinks
    Set links = ActiveSheet.Hyperlinks
    
    For x = 1 to links.count
    ie.navigate links.item(x).address,nothing, "_blank"
    next
    
    End Sub

    For it to open in new tabs this setting must be set in IE settings;
    Internet Options
    General Tab
    Tabs Settings : Settings
    Always open pop-ups in a new tab = Selected
     
  8. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,732
    Try this instead

    Code:
    Sub OpenLinks()
    
    Const navOpenInNewTab = &H800
    Set oIE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    oIE.Visible = True
    
    For Each vCell In Selection
    oIE.Navigate vCell.Value, CLng(navOpenInNewTab)
    Next vCell
    
    End Sub
    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  9. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    LOL! I knew you would come up with something better, Rollin! :)
     
  10. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Curious... how would I do the same thing in Mozilla?

    Am I wearing out my welcome yet? hope not...

    Guys... I really appreciate the help. I wish that I knew Excel better. I'm learnin'
     
  11. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,732
    Sorry I'm not sure how to do it in Mozilla Firefox. You could likely use a shell execute command and pass the URL as an argument but if you use Mozilla I'm pretty sure you'll have to open a separate Window for each site.

    Rollin
     
  12. bomb #21

    bomb #21

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8,269
    Firefox.

    You can add the Web Page Preview button to one of your Excel toolbars, then click it.

    Once this has opened the list in a new FireFox tab, CTRL+A to Select All, then: rightclick - S - Enter.
     
  13. Wolverine-Eric

    Wolverine-Eric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks... but this does not work
     
  14. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Since opening up the Excel calls on a shell command - just as it does for IE - I don't think this is possible.
     
  15. bomb #21

    bomb #21

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8,269
    Works fine for me. Which part doesn't for you?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/903771