1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Open new window when link clicked

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by flawed_cat, Jan 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flawed_cat

    flawed_cat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    I've been trying to find the setting in WinXP Pro/IE6 that when I click on a link it opens a new window instead of using the same one. I looked in Internet Options>Advanced and unchecked "reuse window for launching shortcuts" but that didn't help. Any ideas?
     
  2. Top Banana

    Top Banana

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Right click>Open in New Window
     
  3. flawed_cat

    flawed_cat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Okay thanks, that'll work for now.
    I thought there was a setting to open everything in a new window. :D
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    depends how the link is set up on the web page. the web designer can either allow opening in new page, force opening in new page or force to open in same page and you can't overide them with your settings
     
  5. Mollie

    Mollie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    I *think* this is the setting you meant - it seemed to work when I tried it.

    Open IE and click on tools, then Internet Options. Click on the "advanced" tab. UNcheck the box next to "reuse windows for launching shortcuts." Click apply then close.

    Good luck.

    Mollie
    _ _ _
    "Sarcasm is just one more service I offer."
     
  6. flawed_cat

    flawed_cat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks for the info guys.
    IE6 certainly seems to have its limits after
    experimenting with tabbed browsers.
     
  7. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,716
    I've got IE6 sp1 on this machine but what I use is MyIE2. It's a shell that uses IE.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116315

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice