1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

opening folders take a long time to open

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by doors11, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. doors11

    doors11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Windows 98 se
    Athlon 1.3
    512 DDR mem.
    Asus A7n266 mb


    I just had my windows re installed last week..Now when i open folders it takes up to 30 sec to open them..That is after i open a folder inside a folder inside a folder.And if you you open another
    folder it's takes forever to open. I didn't use to have this problem before the re-install..

    Is ther some settings that i need to check or something in the config files..Or even is my bios not set right


    Any help would be great.
    Thanks
     
  2. redalert95

    redalert95

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    Why did you reinstall??

    Try a disk defragmenter
     
  3. doors11

    doors11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    My computer just started locking up and i had alot of problems with it.It finally went ahead and wouldn't load windows anymore..
    So i took the computer to the repair guy i use and he had to reformat the drive and re-install windows.

    Don't know it just started having problems..I tied anything that i could do, by asking this forum.
     
  4. redalert95

    redalert95

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    hmm
    did u try the disk defrag??
     
  5. redalert95

    redalert95

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    O just thought of something

    when u do control alt delete what programs are running?? if there are a lot that would cause the computer to slow down
     
  6. doors11

    doors11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    I did a defrag and it's the same

    Here is what's running

    Explorer
    CCaap which is Norton's I think
    Systray


    Is My ram no set up right..Should I run a ram program Like Cacheman?

    Any more thoughts
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173420

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice