1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Opera beta

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by WhoseLineFan, Feb 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Ever since a few months ago, the browser has been nothing but buggy and slow. Streaming music has been trouble since the latest update to the browser very recently and I have been getting nothing but errors, pauses, starting and stopping. Is there another browser that I can use instead of this?
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,476
    Just use the stable version, not the beta.
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  3. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Is beta not trusted or something?
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,476
    Products go from alpha, beta and then to production. In the first 2 stages, it undergoes testing, and sometimes, public beta testing. Then when most bugs are fixed, they are released as production/final/stable. A public beta is intended for participants to test and report bugs, because they cannot make enough different real life platforms to foresee and test for problems with the product.
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  5. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Oops. I meant to ask if the Opera beta browser wasn't trusted.
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,476
    Opera is trusted. But I never use the Beta versions.
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  7. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Why not?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,431
    First Name:
    Rob
    Beta means testing version, not fully ready, possible bugs, glitches, etc.
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,476
    I chose not to use beta because it could contain many bugs, and I don't have time to report everything I see to the developers.
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  10. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Now Opera beta hardly even works at all anymore.
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,431
    First Name:
    Rob
    Then why are are you still using it?
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  12. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    I don't know to be honest. I wish that I could transfer all of the bookmarks to other browsers though.
     
  13. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,868
    First Name:
    David
    There is be a Export/Import method.

    The following is from a Google.
    To export data from Opera, follow these steps:
    1. Go to Settings > Import and export File > Import and export.
    2. Choose the file name, change the location if you want to find it easily, and click "Save".
    3. Import the data file according to the instructions of your other browser.
    Import/export data - Opera Help
    help.opera.com/Windows/12.10/en/importexport.html
     
    WhoseLineFan likes this.
  14. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Thank you.
     
  15. WhoseLineFan

    WhoseLineFan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    So it looks like Opera beta stopped working on February 19 because now it doesn't work at all anymore. I tried uninstalling it, but that obviously didn't work. Now My Folders is gone when I attempt to open it, and nothing is even on Bookmarks Bar. All the browser just does is freeze and doesn't respond.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1184835

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice