1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Operating Issue for Bankruptcy Filing Program "BestCase", ran by XQuartz

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Ian1991, Apr 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian1991

Ian1991 Thread Starter

I am a law student and I own a MacBook Air that I am using for this pro bono bankruptcy project. Essentially we use this program called BestCase, that prompts you through a series of Schedules that one must fill out in a standard Chapter 7 petition filing. The BestCase program is operated by X11 traditionally, which from what I know, is a program only compatible with PC computers. Because of this compatibility issue, I have to run the program on XQuartz software, which is like the Mac version of X11 from what I understand.

Anyway, as soon as I brought up the program to start filling out the bankruptcy petition via BestCase, when I type things in or use my space bar, it all comes out as gibberish, Ex. I press the space bar and it types a comma, or I type a Q and it comes out an N. Now I did all the commonsense checks like making sure my keyboard was set to "QWERTY" style and in English, but nothing changed. I even called up BestCase's IT support, with them logged into my computer scrolling and they could not find the answer to the keyboard issue after 25 minutes of exploratory efforts. My only option I can think of is to contact Apple Support for XQuartz, but Apple is notoriously opaque, in my opinion, when it comes to providing a # for which you can contact the right people to begin with.