1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Opinion on Maxtor

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by bizziebill, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bizziebill

bizziebill Thread Starter

Had a private conversation with another member and his experience with Maxtor.
    I've been using Maxtor for 12 yrs or better, never had a problem with them.
    Used WD before, died after 6 months. A couple more after that, so I made the switch to Maxtor.
    He has his negitive thoughts, which he's a right to voice. Has his positive thoughts about what he has confidence in.
    To me its like Ford or Chevy, you find the one that drives right and doesn't blow a head gasket or something and go for it.
    Hope to get some feed back on this.

2. Crusnik

Crusnik

I've had two Maxtors die and one that was DOA =/

3. smeegle

smeegle

My Maxtor has been working ever since I bought it in September 2005. Hopefully thats a good sign.

4. Stoner

Stoner Banned

I had one out of 5 Maxtors go bad that I purchased new. Maxtor replace it and I've had no other problems.

5. Fidelista

Fidelista

Have had both , Western Digital and Maxtors and experieced only one failure.
    It was 3-4? years in use.
    Never had a problem with any componants being DOA on a shipped PC, guess I am just lucky.
    Now dial-up modems --another subject!.
    I had terrible experiece with U.S. Robotics. Bought several that never worked from start.
    I have replaced many on other peoples machines {Lightening in Florida } and switched to Creative---never a problem.
    Would never purchase one {U.S.Robotics} in future., but then most are going to broadband anyway. >f

6. Crusnik

Crusnik