Opps! I got a case of Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pelokwin

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
212
Hello all,
I have a question that may sound dumb but here goes.
If you had XP installed on a computer and did not have the disk, then using a down loaded version of Vista put that on you computer, could you go back to XP with out buying a new disk and doing a reinstall? Also if you could would you loose any data?
For the record I am posting this "q" for a friend who's daughter likes to mess with things. She is having all kinds of problems(I think it is from a bootleg copy of Vista, she thinks Vista is bootleg)
I told her to just start from scratch.
Thank you
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Buiy a legal version of XP and install it to a blank drive. All data will be lost.
 

pelokwin

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
212
:D YES!!,
More or less this was to prove my point although I had herd that there was a way to "revert" back to a prior OS with out loosing data, but I think you need the disk
Thank you for replying
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,211
then using a down loaded version of Vista
If you did a UPGRADE, there is a entry in the Add/Remove programs to uninstall Vista.
But if you used a torrent copy of Vista, Lord knows what will happen!
 

pelokwin

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
212
Just so everyone knows "But if you used a torrent copy of Vista " I did not download, steal or any other non legal thing:cool: I really am posting this for an embarrassed co-worker
DaveA:
So what about backing up all important files and the doing the uninstall? most of the files were made on XP Would she be able to access the now that vista is gone?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Any files she wants to keep can certainly be copied to a CD or flash drive before the process begins. But I wouldn't count at all on files being saved during the process, even if all goes well.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,211
I was referring to your statement "then using a down loaded version of Vista ".
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top