1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Optimizing my PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Firewhiskey, Jul 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Firewhiskey

    Firewhiskey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hello,

    I want to increase the speed of my computer because it's kind of slow right now. I want to do this by buying some hardware but I don't know where to start.

    The specifications are the following:

    - Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.40 GHz Processor
    - 224 MB of RAM
    - 20 GB hardrive
    - VIA cc'97 Audio (WAVE) controller (WDM) (for sound)

    I don't know what other requirements you need to view, but you can always let me know...

    Thaks for the help,

    Firewhiskey
     
  2. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    Step one: Get some more RAM

    You'll notice a huge boost (especially if you're running Win XP) if you go to 512mb
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    And how fast is that hard drive. A lot of older 20 gig drives only spun at 5400 rpm. The faster 7200 give a noticable performance increase.
     
  4. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    Wouldn't hurt to slap in a video card too, if you use any 3D applications (ie. games).

    As Jones says though, more RAM is priority number one!
    (A gigabyte would be ideal)
     
  5. Firewhiskey

    Firewhiskey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks a lot foy your help. My computer in fact uses Windows XP. Now, I have 2 more questions. I use Photoshop 7.0 a lot, since I started using it the PC's got more and more slower. Increasing the RAM memory will be enough for this? And number two: is the RAM memory replaceble or I can add it up? For ex. If I purchase a 512 MB card, will I get 736 MB of RAM or I will be replacing one for the other?


    Thanks a lot,



    Firewhiskey
     
  6. Firewhiskey

    Firewhiskey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Also, I found a RAM card with the following specifications, is it good?
    Product Features and Technical Details
    Product Features
    512 MB of RAM
    One memory module
    Works with PCs that use 333 MHz DDR memory modules
    Lifetime warranty
    Technical Details
    Memory Size: 512MB
    Memory Speed: 333MHz PC2700
    Memory CAS Latency: 2 - 2.5
    Memory Type: DDR


    Thank you very much,


    Firewhiskey
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483987

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice