1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Orange livebox keeps discounting

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scorpinuk, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    My orange livebox keeps discounting from the internet, so wen i go onto firefox or internet explorer it wont connect. But the lights stay on n i have to turn off/on the power to the livebox to get it connected. It does it evey few days
     
  2. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Can anybody help
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    - Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
    - How are the PCs / Laptops connected - full details - cable, wireless
    - What windows version or other OS are running on each laptop Xp, Vista, 7, ubuntu etc
    - Are there any other machines working - if so please provide details
    - If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
    - If using wireless encryption, try deleting the wireless profiles - post back results

    would you do the following when connected and repeat when disconnected

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    IF using wireless connction

    Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    i have a dell dimension 3100 and no laptops, my computer is running windows xp. its connect straight from the livebox by ethernet. i have my ps3 which is connected by ethernet aswell. ill now do the other things you said to do,..
     
  5. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : comp1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-EA-5E-E3
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.39
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 05 May 2010 12:55:01
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 May 2010 12:55:01

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>
     
  6. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [209.85.227.147] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.85.227.147: bytes=32 time=67ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.85.227.147: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.85.227.147: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.85.227.147: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 209.85.227.147:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 65ms, Maximum = 81ms, Average = 71ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>
     
  7. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>ping192.168.1.1
    'ping192.168.1.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick> Ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>
     
  8. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=129ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=129ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=124ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=133ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 124ms, Maximum = 133ms, Average = 128ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>
     
  9. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    heers the screen shot
     

    Attached Files:

  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK so the ipconfig /all and the pings look good
    Now when it disconnects before doing any thing else repeat the tests - all of them

    The ipconfig /all - that shows you have been assigned an IP address from the router
    the ping to the 192.168.1.1 - as you get a reply (4 of them) that proves you are connected to the router
    then the ping to google - proves you can get out on the internet and resolve names OK
    the ping to 209.183.226.152 is here techguy.org and if you can connect with a number but not by name that still proves you can get onto the internet - but have a DNS issue
     
  11. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    these are the results after it disconnects
     

    Attached Files:

  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You have to ping an actual IP address, 1 doesn't get it.

    Try pinging 192.168.1.39 and then 192.168.1.1 and post the results.

    Please just post them in a message, we don't need a text file.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Opened as requested.
     
  14. scorpinuk

    scorpinuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    here are the tests when it disconects

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>Ping 192.168.1.39

    Pinging 192.168.1.39 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.39: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.39: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.39: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.39: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.39:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>Ping192.168.1.1
    'Ping192.168.1.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>Ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\nick>
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's the IPCONFIG /ALL look like when you're disconnected?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Orange livebox keeps
  1. rsnkhelp
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    289
  2. Besteka
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    321
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921114

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice