Out of ideas why it won't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Xander

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
61
My computer still won't play games...any games. Freezes after a short time, or crashes to desktop without any warning(it's as if the program was never even running, not even an error message) or an error message crash.

Ran RAM tests, came back great.

I ran the Hot CPU test last night. Passed with 100%

The video card is new...it's awfully warm on the back of it, but it's got a big heat sink and fan on it, so I'm thinking that's normal for it.

I disconnected the vent fans and took the side off the tower, so not thinking it's a problem there.

Thought it might be a lack of power issue, but since the supply is supporting 2 fewer fans and I'm still crashing, don't think that's it.

Fresh install of Windows XP, so that's not it

Getting random IE problem encounter closedowns as well.

Screwed with the BIOS and I *think* I slowed everything down on it...it was all on auto, so I switched the RAM over to 333 and the lowest number on all the other things.


Nothing seems to be working here...any other ideas out there as to what's wrong with this thing? Replacing the motherboard and hard drive next week, but eh....I'm not seeing how that would be the root of it.
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
A full description of components would be helpful.

Have you installed the mobo drivers.
Have you installed the latest DirectX.
Have you installed the latest Video card drivers.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
We need some PC specs - like CPU, RAM type, video card, powersupply wattage, etc.

Do you now what the temps of the system are? You can check in the BIOS or use a program like MainBoard Monitor 5(can be downloaded free) to check the temps when it happens. Also if you have more then one stick of RAM, try one at a time.
 

Xander

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
61
Sorry, forgot specs *bonk self*


I haven't done any teamp checking...I'll go download that mainboard monitor thing now. I'm gonna be running a 3dmark03 test in a minute just to make sure it's not hte vid card, though I don't think it is...this is the 3rd card I've had in the last 2 weeks.

Drivers, directX etc. all up to date.


EDIT: This is the entire spec on the 3dmark03 benchmarker...gives me all the details right before it runs the test.

AMD AMD Athlon(TM) XP 2700+ 2.2 GHz
Manufacturer AMD
Family AMD Athlon(TM) XP 2700+
Internal Clock 2.2 GHz
Internal Clock Maximum 2.2 GHz
External Clock 166.0 MHz
Socket Designation SOCKET A
Type Central
Capabilities MMX, CMov, RDTSC, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!, SSE
Version Model 8, Stepping 1
Caches
Level 1 128 KB
Level 2 256 KB


DirectX Version 9.0
Long Version 4.09.00.0902

DirectDraw
Version 5.3.0000000.900
Primary Device NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600


Display Device 1/1
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600 Driver 4.5.2.3

DirectSound
Version 5.3.0000000.900
Speaker Configuration Stereo
Speaker Geometry Wide
Primary Device SoundMAX Digital Audio

Sound Device 1/1
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio Driver 5.12.1.3663


Memory Info
Total Physical Memory 1.00 GB
Free Physical Memory 803 MB
Total Pagefile Memory 1.66 GB
Free Pagefile Memory 1.54 GB


Motherboard Info
Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Model A7V8X-X
Version REV 1.xx
BIOS Vendor Award Software, Inc.
BIOS Version ASUS - 42302e31
BIOS Release Date 08/05/03
BIOS Properties Plug and Play, Flash, AGP
AGP
Revision 3.5
Rate 4x, 8x (8x enabled)
Available Rate 0x0000000c
Selected Rate 0x00000008
Aperture Size 0 B
Sideband Addressing supported (enabled)
Fast Write not supported


Operating System Info
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
Version 5.1.2600
Service Pack Service Pack 1
Locale US
Desktop Width 1024 px
Desktop Height 768 px
Desktop BPP 32 b


Hard Disk Drive 1/1
Name Maxtor 6Y080L0
Manufacturer (Standard disk drives)
Capacity 76.33 GB
Model Maxtor 6Y080L0
Interface Type IDE
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2002
Messages
64
1. Try putting your old grapics card back in.
2. Try running a demo that came with card.
3. You are not trying to run at a too higher res are you?
4. Run a scandisk from safe mode (F8) and see if that reports lots of bad sectors.
 

Xander

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
61
The old graphics card is the same type as this one...my first FX5600 I blew up, which is the cause of this whole mess...I sent puter in for repairs, got it back on Wednesday with a new FX5600, couldn't game. They sent me this FX5600(better qaulify one, to be sure), and same problem.

I just ran the 3dMark03 test...it came through just fine...scored 2500 on it, which is about average, and didn't crash once during any of the games the thing uses to test with. I'm guessing this means it's not a video card problem.

I typically run on the 1024x768, though I did try dropping it down once for Neverwinter Nights...didn't make any difference.

Ran Scandisk a couple nights ago...it went through all 5 "processes" of the diagnostic/repair and came up blank, so the hard drive is apparently solid


Guess since I've got time I'll take out a RAM card and just start sliding the other one between the 3 slots, see if that amkes any difference, though I don't see how it would, as it passes all my RAM tests as is.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top