Outlook 2000 and more than one email account

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wheatman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3
My wife is using Outlook 98 for the first time and has two email accounts set up. How do you get one email account to default over the other on outgoing emails? Thanks.
 

sle

Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
642
Hi, wheatman. If you want all emails to be sent out from one acct only, just make that one the default acct: Tools > Email Accts > View or Change Existing, then just "Default" the one account.

If she wants to be able to switch between the two, it's not as easy (but still not taxing). Because she has two accts set up already (I'm assuming), there should be an "Accts" button appearing when she replies or sends a new message. Then she selects which acct to send from each time; actually, it should default to the default acct, so make the less used acct the non-default acct.

Let me know if I need to clarify.
 

wheatman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3
Thanks Sle, but I messed up. She is actually using Outlook 98, that's why I'm having the problem. I use Express 6 myself, where it's exaxtly like you said, just default one account. But in 98, it's different. Call me dumb, but I can not figure it out. Thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
If you still have the source files for Outlook98, you might try reconfiguring it to use the Corporate setup. Then you can add all the accounts or profiles you want.
 

wheatman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3
We can add all the accounts we want now, it's just I can't figure out how to set one over the other as the default account to mail from. She has two accounts now which she is recieving in to, but when she goes to outgoing mail it attaches the account she doesen't want it too. I just thought there had to be an easy way to name one of the accounts as a default.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Not with Outlook98 it doesn't work quite that way.

Just installed Outlook98 with the Internet configuration. What happens if you go to:

Tools
Accounts
Highlight the one you want
Click on the Set as Default button
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
When you are ready to send the Email, if instead of just clicking on the SEND button you click on the smaller button by thre side of it, it then lets you choose which account to send from. Or you can use FILE/SEND FROM.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Or just set the default e-mail account you want to use with Outlook98 and you don't have to do any special every time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top