1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Outlook 2000 Help Asap

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by p5mmx10g, Dec 18, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    using outlook 2000 connecting to a exchange server, everything works fine internal, connected fine, name resolved right the way.

    when i try to do it remotely, it says the name could not be resolved. network problem. help.
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Remotely how? Through a dialup on your network, through the internet?
     
  3. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    internet
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Won't work unless you have some way to connect directly to your office network thru VPN or something similar.
     
  5. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    i remeber i did it once, forgot how to do it.
     
  6. Jonesy

    Jonesy

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    23
    Have you tried using the public IP address of your Exchange Server instead of the server name? I have done this before too, so it does work.

    What about OWA?
     
  7. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    tried both , ip and domain name
     
  8. Jonesy

    Jonesy

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    23
    How is your server firewalled, does it directly touch the Internet?

    Can you ping the server by IP addy?

    Do you use WINS at work? Do your remote settings match these?
     
  9. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    owa, pop3 smtp fine
     
  10. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    exchange behind router
     
  11. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    The only way I know how is with OWA or being on a WAN....unless of course your Exchange server isn't behind a firewall then it is open to anyone with the IP address. I think there is a setting in Exchange for external hosts.
     
  12. p5mmx10g

    p5mmx10g Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    which is?
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62175

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice