outlook 2000 help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

T-Bone

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Messages
109
Whenever I try to open up Outlook Help, my computer opens an "Installer" window briefly, and then opens another window that says "please wait while Windows configures Microsoft Front Page 2000 SR-1." After the progress bars get about half-way, I get another window saying "Error 1706. No valid source could be found for product Microsoft Front Page 2000. The Windows installer cannot continue."

So I click "OK", and the whole thing starts all over again!

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Somehow, it appears you've got FrontPage as the viewer for html files.

If you know how, you might want to try associating html files with IE or Netscape, whichever is your browser. If you don't know how, just do a search right here at Tech support guy and see if you can't find a thread using keywords "windows file associations" or let us know.

Basically, what's the icon on an html file?
 

T-Bone

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Messages
109
The icon for html files is the Windows Internet Explorer "e", so I don't think that is the problem. I'm thinking that Outlook was installed as a part of MS Office, and that Outlook help is somehow trying to find files associated with Front Page. My boss installed from MS Office, but he chose not to install Front Page. Mabey that's why my computer is trying to install Front Page whenever I start Outlook help.

Any thoughts?
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Doubtful.

You know what? Open IE, go to Tools-Internet option, Programs tab. Make sure FrontPage is NOT listed as the html editor, just choose something that IS installed on the PC, like Word.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Is there some installer starting up as Windows loads, I wonder?

Try this:

Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
Paste the contents in your post.
 

T-Bone

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Messages
109
Here you go:

Office Startup
Synchronization Manager
Matrox Powerdesk
EM_EXEC
LoadQM
MSN Messenger
QuickTime Task
TkBellExe
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
I can't believe that's really all there is.
I don't see System Tray, I don't see Scan Registry.

Would you mind terribly going back to Msinfo32, and copy and paste the contents of the 'Startup Programs' menu exactly like we asked you to do?
 

T-Bone

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Messages
109
software environment / startup programs:

Program Command User Name
Office Startup c:\progra~1\micros~2\office\osa.exe -b All Users
Synchronization Manager mobsync.exe /logon All Users
Matrox Powerdesk c:\winnt\system32\pdesk.exe /autolaunch All Users
EM_EXEC c:\progra~1\logitech\mousew~1\system\em_exec.exe All Users
LoadQM loadqm.exe All Users
MSN Messenger c:\documents and settings\brent\my documents\messenger service received files\pic1324(1)(1)(3)(1)(1)(1).exe All Users
QuickTime Task c:\winnt\system32\qttask.exe All Users
TkBellExe c:\program files\common files\real\update_ob\evntsvc.exe -osboot All Users

All I did in my last post was delete the paths.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well, I realised fropm your startup that you're running Win2K or NT, and that's not my specialty.

However, there are a couple of things you'd be wise to remove from startup.

Remove Office from the startup folder.

Next, open the Registry editor, drill down to, and examine the following two keys:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
and
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ RunServices

Rightclick the following items in the right pane, and choose delete :

EM_EXEC
Ec.exec
LoadQM
QuickTime
TkBellExe

Good luck,
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Messages
140
Ive got an idea, remove and reinstall outlook. Or just install everythign under outlook in the install window. Put the disc in and everything that says to install on first use, change to run from my computer.
DONE
--Adam
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top