Outlook 2007 Address Book Lists

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
Greetings! I have an employee who's telling me that a certain selectable list in his Address Book menu is populated while he's here in the office, but blank when he's away. He's telling me that his "Contacts" selection in the Address Book drop-down (shown in the attached pic) is blank when he isn't here. How can I keep that from happening? He's running W7 with Outlook 2007.

Thanks in Advance!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Is his PST file stored on the server or set to work offline? You can also create an offline address book if the main PST file is on the server in the office.
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
Is his PST file stored on the server or set to work offline? You can also create an offline address book if the main PST file is on the server in the office.
Thanks for the reply, Rockn! I'm not sure if his PST is set to work, offline. Pardon my ignorance, but how would I go about doing that, and how would I create the offline address book?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
First off is the the email running off of an Exchange Server or are users just downloading email from a POP or IMAP server? Are they even using a PST file, I am assuming they are.
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
First off is the the email running off of an Exchange Server or are users just downloading email from a POP or IMAP server? Are they even using a PST file, I am assuming they are.
I hope I'm getting this right, but I believe it's through an Exchange Server, though we go through Intermedia, as well.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
When he is not in the office is he using the same computer that he is using in the office? I think there is something missing from this picture. You can have a contacts list separate from the Exchange global address list, but to use them out of the office you need to use cached Exchange mode.
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
He has only mentioned using the laptop he currently has with him in the office. I just found the method to enable cached exchange, so I'll adjust that on his machine. To test it, would I just close Outlook and restart it in offline mode?
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
When he is not in the office is he using the same computer that he is using in the office? I think there is something missing from this picture. You can have a contacts list separate from the Exchange global address list, but to use them out of the office you need to use cached Exchange mode.
Ok, he just told me that his cached Exchange mode is checked. What else can I check?
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
Make sure he is not using a PST file that is stored on the network. If you are getting email through Exchange there is no need for using a PST unless he is also getting email from other POP mail servers outside of your organization.

Make sure an offline folder is set up:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/o...ge-folders-available-offline-HP005242271.aspx
I'll check on the offline folders. If he were using a PST file on the network, would he ever get any sort of indication of it when he opened Outlook?
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
He should get some sort of warning if the PST was not available.
Ok, so when he's out of the office, he should consistently be getting warnings that it isn't available, or are you saying that he'd only be getting warnings if he's *on the network* and not getting PSTs? I'm sorry if I'm not reading you, correctly.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
If he had a PST stored on the network and then was out of the office he should be receiving an error that the PST cannot be found. I don't think this is going to be the issue however.
 

burrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
10
Ok, I just got on his machine, and he's kind of rewording some things. Please have a look at the screenshot. How can I place the listing called "JCS Contacts in Personal Folders" into the Address Book so that he can see that list in the drop-down when he sends an email?
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top