Solved Outlook 2016 Disproportionate Window Panes Part 2

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cr33kbed

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
6
I am once again having this issue whereas the sidepanels and the ribbon within the desktop side of Outlook 2016 are out of proportions again (basically enlarged). I'm mostly going to reference the old thread I marked solved since it's the same issue, although this time it's a different user and the solution there of reimaging the machine did not permanently work here for some reason. Initially it worked, but on a restart the problem returned (and this happened after two tries at reimaging).

https://forums.techguy.org/threads/outlook-2016-disproportionate-window-panes.1215030/

DPI settings are normal (100% scaling), and resolution does not appear to factor in its appearance. This is only the second user I've seen this with though so judging from searches it doesn't appear to be a widespread bug with a Windows update at all.

Has anyone seen this before and know of a fix? Outlook does let you format email panes and columns and the like but not the actual left panel, right panel (if it's enabled), and the ribbon pane.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,135
On my Outlook 365 (2016) all one needs to do is hoover the mouse over the line between folder listing and the email listing, until the double arrow appears and then drag to your hearts desire.

Also make sure that Outlook window (pane) is wide enough to display all of the ribbon bar.
 

cr33kbed

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
6
Good idea, I haven't messed with that. Unfortunately though, that doesn't seem to be it. In the previous thread the ribbon pane was enlarged to the point where it wouldn't show the whole thing. Same case here, and it's not something that's customizable like the folder pane line is.

It's like a permanent DPI setting is applying to the window panes itself. It can be made wide enough to fit the ribbon pane in but it's moreso than normal.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,135
Are any of these machines using the older tube type of monitors?
As they are limited to the what resolutions can be used. Also some of the older flat screen have the same issues.
 

cr33kbed

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
6
Are any of these machines using the older tube type of monitors?
As they are limited to the what resolutions can be used. Also some of the older flat screen have the same issues.
Flatscreens, relatively new ones at that (HDMI compat at least).

I'm marking this as solved as, once again, I found a roundabout way around it. Setting the custom scaling to 101% seems to have fixed it. Another strange oddity I suppose.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,351
I have seen this before and if I remember its due to scaling. I will look at my notes to see if I documented the fix as I haven't seen it again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top