1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Outlook Archive Files

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by blakrapter, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blakrapter

blakrapter Thread Starter

Hello everyone,

I have been archiving emails for several years now and my archive file was approaching 6 GB. It was causing a problem with my online backup because every 2 weeks when I archive, it tries to upload a ~6 GB file. So, I decided to split it up into a Through-2009 archive, and will continue to break it up through the years to keep the file sizes more reasonable for uploading with residential DSL.

The problem is the file sizes do not seem to be adding up. I have been archiving anything over 18 months old to my "Archive" file, so, I still had some 2009 stuff in my primary PST file. My large "Archive" file as I mentioned above was at nearly 6 GB. I used the archive function to move ALL information from the "Archive" file to the "Through 2009" archive. In addition, I went ahead and forced all information through 2009 in my primary PST to be archived to the "Through 2009" archive.

So, since I moved all information from the "Archive" file, its size should be nearly 0 and the file size of the "Through 2009" archvie file should be around 6GB... According to Windows explorer, my "Archive" file is still 5,880,593 KB (or around 6 GB) and my "Through 2009" is 4,102,185 KB (or around 4 GB). So, I checked them in Outlook by right clicking > Properties > Folder Size. According to Outlook, my "Archive" file is 1005 KB (only because I moved a few emails in there hopeing it would updated when something was added) and my "Through 2009" is 3,785,100 KB.

So, I have two problems:
    1. My primary "Archive" file is still too large to upload efficiently.