1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Outlook Email from Excel based on date in Cell

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by JNoji, May 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JNoji

JNoji Thread Starter

Hello,

I have seen posts similar to my requests but have been unable to put together a code to do everything I need it to do as I am very new to VBA coding.

I am looking for a VBA code that will generate an email when the date in a cell of a column is 7 days or less from the current date. The email will be sent to a recipient listed in another cell column and cc my coworker. I also need a code to change the data in another cell to "Approve, Email Sent" when the same cell date is between 7 and 1 days from the current date and "Expired, Email Sent" when the date equals the current date so that an email will only send if this cell does not equal "Approved, Email Sent" or "Expired, Email Sent" so that emails are not repeatedly sent every time the spreadsheet is opened. I plan on running task scheduler to open the spreadsheet every Monday so the code will run weekly at minimum.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you!

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    Hi, welcome to the forum.
    Do you have VBA knwoledge?

This module will take care of the mailing part (using Outlook)

All you need to do is write the code for your selection (which you explained, so it shouldn't be that difficult) and then pass it to the Mailing module

Code:
    Option Explicit

Function MailData(mSubject As String, mMessage As String, Sendto As String, Optional CCto As String)
    Dim eSubject As String, Sendto As String, CCto As String, EBody As String
    Dim app As Object, Itm As Variant