1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Outlook Express 2003 to Outlook 2003

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by respa, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to setup email in Outlook 2003. I imported all settings from Express into Outlook and and then click on "Test Account Settings", everything seems to work fine.

    However, emails are still being delivered into Express and when I try to send an email from Outlook I get the following message.

    "The operation failed. An object could not be found."

    Any ideas on what I am missing?

    Thank you
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to have outlook express and outlook both setup - the application that you do the send receive will be th eone that should recieve the email,

    close outlook express and just open outlook 2003
     
  3. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have closed Outlook Express.

    I don't receive email messages in Outlook and get the following message when I try to send

    "The operation failed. An object could not be found."
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the email client you are trying to attach to with outlook ?

    go to the website and see what the settings are needed for outlook 2003
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You can import your messages and you can import your contacts but you really cannot import your email provider settings. You need to set up the email account you want to send and receive from , If you have done so, you have some settings incorrectly entered.
     
  6. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to connect to Roadrunner.

    I have gone over all the settings in detail and they all seem correct.

    I recently had an issue setting up forwarding from a new email address associated with a new domain. I finally found that it was getting caught in the spam filter. I don't know if that could be happening with this.

    Thanks for your help
     
  7. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
  8. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I think that the profile, etc is set correctly. But I am stumped.
     
  9. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
    Did you try a new profile? :confused:
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    i can't get it working. I tried a couple of years ago and finally gave up. I seldom use the home computer but want to start using Outlook so that I can transfer contacts, etc from my work computer. Everything seems to be configured correctly and when I run the test it works fine. However, when I try to send an email I get the following message:

    "The operation failed. An object could not be found."

    I am wondering if there might be some file missing in the installation process of the program.

    I thank you all for your ideas.
     
  12. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    So you received the error again immediately after creating a new Outlook profile?
     
  13. respa

    respa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, it pops up after creating a new profile. I deleted the one that I was using and tried two different profiles.

    I setup the very same profile in Outlook Express and it works fine.
     
  14. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Did you create a new PST file?
    Are you creating a new Outlook profile or just another account? The error you're seeing likely doesn't have anything to do with your e-mail account settings. It's more likely a corrupt PST file or some other type of program corruption.
     
  15. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/312354

    When you create the new profile in Outlook 2003, a new .pst file will be created, automatically.
    Are you Importing or Upgrading your messages into Outlook 2003, when you first start the new profile?
    If you are Importing or Upgrading the messages, STOP.

    Create another new profile in Outlook 2003, cancel out of any prompts to Import or Upgrade.
    You want a completely fresh profile.
    Your e-mail account will need to be recreated.
    Send a message addressed to yourself to test.


    Let us know what happens.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756336

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice