Outlook Express doesn't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
Although it is not my primary email my printer/scanner defaults to Outlook when I scan to email. However, I can not send/receive through Outlook. Do I need to reconfigure Outlook and if so, how do I do that?
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi crsaj

This is Outlook Express and not Microsoft Outlook, part of the Microsoft Office suite?

What happens when you attempt to send messages using Outlook Express?
Your e-mail account server settings are correctly entered in Outlook Express?
Are you receiving any error messages? If so, please post the entire error message in your reply.

Do you want Outlook Express to be set as your default e-mail client?
What program is your current e-mail client?
What operating system are you using?
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
Yes, I'm using Outlet Express for scanning to email. When I attempt to send a message from Outlook Express I now get a message saying I have no email configured. My operating system is Windows XP and I use Yahoo for brousing and email. I do not want Outlook Express to be my default email client. I would like to stick with Yahoo. To set up Outlook Express I need some configuration setting I don't know much about. (ex. Incoming mail Pop 3, etc. and Outgoing mail (SMTP) server. Where do I get this information?
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
Ok, I don't wamt to mess up my yahoo email so I need to keep this as my default email.. But I do need to use Outlook for when I scan to email with my printer (software). The HP printer only uses Outlook.
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
That is strange since I was able to use both when using my laptop. Since my laptop crashed I've been using my daughters desktop but Outlook is not configured on it. I think I need more help here.
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
I followed the instructions as given but now receive an error message that my password has been rejected. I changed both POP3 and SMTP, etc. Need more help. Thanks
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
According to Yahoo, free accounts cannot be used with a local client such as Outlook or Outlook Express. Your password is being rejected because you don't have a valid account on Yahoo's POP or SMTP servers.
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
Ok, now what? How do I get a valid account on Yahoo's POP or SMTP servers? I'm really lost about this. I have email, I have an account that I'm using now with AT&T Yahoo.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
If the account is an @yahoo.com address, you have to upgrade to Yahoo Mail Plus. It's a paid service.
 

crsaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2002
Messages
991
It looks like I've reached a dead end on this issue. Can't see paying for something that I already have for free. Doesn't make sense. Still wondering why it worked on my laptop. Configurations were all the same. Thanks for all your help though.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top