Outlook Express links won't open new window

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DuallyDude

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
6
If I'm in Outlook Express and already have IE6 open and then click a link from OE nothing happens - but if I don't already have IE6 open then click a link the link will open a page - I do have IE6 set to reuse window but for some reason it's not working.

A little more info - if I click a link from IE6 it will work fine
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,435
Try this:

Close all programs

Click on Start>Run, copy and paste in the following and press enter

regsvr32 urlmon.dll

Click on OK when you receive the completion message.

If that doesn't resolve it, try the same command with the following files

Shdocvw.dll
Msjava.dll
Actxprxy.dll
Oleaut32.dll
Mshtml.dll
Browseui.dll
Shell32.dll
 

DuallyDude

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
6
It's still doing the same - Do I need to restart the computer before changes will tale affect?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,435
I'm not sure but it's worth a try.
 

DuallyDude

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
6
Same after reboot - the funny thing is if I close IE6 then click the link from Outlook Express it will open - just not when I already have IE6 open - it just goes to the webpage I already have open and doesn't open the link I just clicked
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,435
Please do this. Click here: http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe to download Hijack This.

It’s very important that you save it to its own folder on your hard drive, such as program files (not temporary files or the desktop), so that it can create proper back-ups and be able to restore them if necessary.

Close all open windows and open Hijack This. Click “Scan”. When the scan is finished (it only takes a second), the scan button will change to “Save Log”. Click on “Save Log” and then save it to NotePad. Click on “Edit” – “Select all” – “copy” and then “paste” into the thread.

DO NOT FIX ANYTHING YET, most items that appear in the log are harmless or even needed.
 

DuallyDude

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
6
I finally figured it out - I had to goto control panel-tools-folder options-file types-advanced-URL HyperText Transfer Protocol-edit and in space #4 it said "system" and I changed it to WWW_OpenURL

Now it's working - got the info from here (http://www.oehelp.com/ielnk.aspx)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top