outlook express won't run

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rylz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
136
I use microsoft outlook express as default email. I am also using a DSL -- for the last 2 days it will not connect. I have checked settings, and rebooted..etc.... I can be reached at [email protected]

thanks for help!
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2001
Messages
671
First of all, check your network connection. This is easy : if you can browse the internet with Explorer or Netscape, your network should be ok.

If you can't browse, check internet connection settings

If you can browse, try checking the settings of your e-mail account. They are located in Tools/Account/Mail, then choose properties for the e-mail account you are using
 

rylz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
136
Thanks Peter....but I did that. My DSL is working fine..no problems on that end....and I checked my email settings and everything lines up. It just keeps saying your internet connect has failed.

Any other thoughts? I will probably have to call the local DSL tomorrow.

Thanks again!:D
 

rylz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
136
ok....now my firewall keeps locking my email out. I have it configured to pass lock for Outlook express and it has never done this...

any ideas now? thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2001
Messages
671
The default port for POP3 is 110.
The default port for SMTP is 25.

Make sure your firewall allows both ports to pass through
 

rylz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
136
Thanks again Peter for the help...
I checked all settings and everything seems to line up.....I must be missing something really basic.

I even removed the firewall completely and the email still says that the internet connection has failed.

Now what? contact the DSL provider?

Appreciate your patience.....
Terri
 

rylz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2000
Messages
136
Hey Peter.....checked with my DSL and they are evidently doing some "conversion" thing and I has all the emails down.

Once again...thanks for your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top