1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Outlook Express

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by baribecker, Dec 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. baribecker

    baribecker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I have lost my ability to see attachments when viewing my e-mail through Outlook Express. Also when I try to send an attachment it doesn't show. However, they are there... just no icon. Any ideas would be appreciated! Thank you!
     
  2. hotshot_9891

    hotshot_9891

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    You might want to try reinstalling Outlook Express
     
  3. baribecker

    baribecker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks, I have twice...not sure what else to do.
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You should use "Western European (ISO)" for Encoding. Places to check this in OE5:
    - Tools, Options, Send, International
    - Tools, Options, Read, Font
    - Tools, Options, Read, International
    - When composing a message, look in Format, Encoding

    Good luck,
     
  5. baribecker

    baribecker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks, Tony.
    I Tried all that you mentioned and to still no avail. What to do, what to do,...
    Yikes, this can be so frustrating! B
     
  6. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    Check this setting in OE.

    Tools
    Options
    Security
    Do not allow Attachments to be saved or opened that could potentially be a virus.

    If it is checked, which if you are using OE6 it is checked by default, you can uncheck it and see if that will make a difference. You might need to send a test message to yourself to see.

    Also, keep in mind that this opens up your computer more to virii, so keep that virus scanner up to date.
     
  7. baribecker

    baribecker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    It is fixed...thank you for your help. I ended up going back into Windows Updates and reinstalled OE6 through customized settings and it worked. ;)
    Thanks, again!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62252

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice