Outlook is not functioning due to virus

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
Recently I have been struck with two viruses, After deleting files that were infected my icon for Outlook Express does not open the program. I tried to use "open with" and search through all the icons shown in the list but the icon that looked like a letter does not exist in any list. I tried to uninstall Outlook express and reistall it and I get a message that it was unable to uninstall. I also tried to go to select a new component through the add/remove internet tools and .... and no luck there either. I would really like to get my saved drafts out of Outlook express and my address book. Any suggestion? Thanks to anyone that can help.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
go to start/settings/control panel/add-remove & find your current Internet Explorer... highlight to remove & when the window pops up it will ask you are you wating to repair or remove... click fix or repair..........
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
The viruses were PE_MAGISTR.B and TROJ_HYBRIS_P23 (also P16, P30, P1, etc) It seems that the Magistr one caused the most damage though. It seems that I am now missing my msimn.exe file which is needed to open and run Outlook Express.
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
I did what savvy suggested to repair IE but nothing has changed. Outlook Express does not run. Woould it be possible for someone to e-mail me the file I am missing and tell me where to install it? The missing file is msimn.exe.
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
I have Windows 95 so that does not apply to me however, when I tried to uninstall Outlook express it gives me an error message that says "An error occurred while trying to remove Outlook....5 Uninstallation has been cancelled" Thanks for you assitance. :)
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
Thank you Doyce but could you assist further. When I try to add a component to IE it gives me this message "setup has detected a newer version of IE already installed on this system, setup can not continue." Would this be upgrades. Can you tell me what files to look for and delete. Keep in mind that I am running IE 5.5 and Win 95. The only IE files in my download file folder that I can see are IE4setup.exe IE5stepup.exe and IE5wa.exe. I have also read up on How to manually uninstall Outlook Express, but near the end of it it tells me to use the registry editor which I am not sure that I want to do. Is there a way I can get my addresses from Outlook and import them to say Netscape, or I was told that an e-mail program from No nags is similiar to Outlook with a lot less problems. I am very frustrated with Outlook Express as I have had a similiar problem with it before. Or is there a way to buy the entire 5.5 and download it to get my stuff like addresses and important letters out of Outlook? Thanks very much!!!
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Remember that in this article, you must do the remove portion listed at the bottom of the page for Outlook Express. Then do the add portion at the top. If that still does not work, then see this article. Hopefully this will do it.
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
I did everthing successfully in the first link that you sent me and it still will not let me add a componet. I get the message "setup has detected a newer.....cannot continue" So I clicked on the second link that you pointed me to however at the top of this article it says it applies to IE version 5, for windows 98 or the operating system:ME. I am running IE 5.5 and WIN 95. Could you point me to the right avenue. Thank you very much, by the way, for all your help....I am really learning a lot. Now if only I could repair the problem....lol. :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
I truly have no idea why it is behaving this way. So, here is what we will do. Forget the rest and go here and get 5.5 SP2. Get the full version, IE and OE. If this doesnt do it then........well, I dont know. But we'll think of something. :)
 

cyberfreak

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Messages
87
Thank you thank you, ty ty. I now have a fully funtionaing OE! The weird thing that happened though was when it asked me to put in the settings, pop...smpt etc it was also asking me to import old adress book and messages etc. But when I tried to do this it only found a few messages that were from over a year ago and it never imported any of my addresses. This was about the time I had to install OE when it crashed before due to a memeory glitch. Anway thanks a bunch but could you point me in the right direction as to how to import my address book now, and I would really be happy to get my saved draft folder imported as well.

:p
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Do we really want to mess with success?:confused:

Anyway, I had help on that one, so, say "Thank you Tony!". ;)

Where and how do you have the stuff saved?
.
.
.
.
.
.
Oh, well, speak of the devil. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top