Outlook & Outlook Express--Can receive mail but cannot send

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alex Ethridge

Using both Outlook and Outlook Express on new HP a1310n system with Windows XP Home, Charter cable internet.

When we originally set up the system two weeks ago, everything was fine; but, just yesterday, we suddenly cannot send mail. Outlook and Outlook Express both indicate successful send and receive; but, no one is receiving our mail Also, when we send mail from ourselves to ourselves, we get a message thet the send was successful but, we do not receive the test mail. We have also checked the mail server through IE and the mail we are sending to ourselves doesn't make it to the server.

Out SMTP and POP settings are correct. I am a tech and I know well what Charter's in and out servers are.

We have uninstalled and deleted the folders for all antivirus, antiadware and antispyware and turned off all firewalls.

Make sure in the account setup, that the box for My server requires authentication is checked and that the Use same settings as my incoming mail radio button is checked.
Try to receive mail before trying to send your email again.
You might try and remove all emails in your Outbox (if any) close Outlook completely and try again.

Just a wild guess and don't know if it will work have you thought about changing the outgoing port from 25. Maybe for some reason 25 is blocked.

You did not mention who your ISP is. I use Earthlink via BrightHouse who requires the SMTP server be set to SMTPAUTH.servername rather that just smtp.servername ; this is required to authenticate a third party. Give it a try.....

Alex Ethridge