Outlook Wizard problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kylake

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 1999
Messages
228
I think a long time ago I told the Outlook wizard not to run. Mistake on my part. I have gone into Tools>Options>Mail setup>when I click Email accounts I get a prompt that says "not implemented"
How do I get the Outlook wizard to run again and setup and import from the Outlook Express account?

Thanks in advance for help,
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Go to Outlook itself and run the program.

It should prompt you to setup, then allow you to import.

You can't set it as you are trying to do as it is not yet a valid email client.
 

kylake

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 1999
Messages
228
I am not sure what you mean by "Go to Outlook directly". That is what I thought I had been doing. I open outlook and the wizard doesn't run. Should I just do an uninstall and reload again to freshen it or is there an easier way to get the wizard to run?
Thanks again for the help.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Sorry, I misread.

Is there no way you can allow it to create a new account?
Things vary slightly between versions, we have no idea which outlook version you have at this stage.

But I would have expected Outlook to have either run the Wizard or allow you to create a new email account manually, the behaviour you describe does not sound normal.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
17
Hi,

To configure the outlook here are the few steps :

Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
2. If you see the Control Panel Home view, click User Accounts and Family Safety.

If you do not see the Control Panel Home view, go to the next step.
3. Click Mail.


Step 2: Create a new profile
1. Click E-mail Accounts.
2. Click New.
3. If you see the Choose E-mail Service page, click Microsoft Exchange, POP3, IMAP, or HTTP, and then click Next.

If you see Auto Account Setup, go to "Step 3: Configure the profile."

For example------

Step 3: Configure the profile
1. In the E-mail Address box, type the e-mail address for your Hotmail account.
2. In the Your Name box, type your name as you want it to appear to recipients.
3. In the Password and Retype Password boxes, type the password for your Hotmail account.
4. Click Next.
5. When the e-mail account is configured, click Finish.
6. Click Close two times.

This can resolve your issue

With best regards
Abdul:
 

kylake

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 1999
Messages
228
Thanks for the help. I found something on the web where I could make a reset the registry to make the wizard run again and setup and import is complete.
Thanks again for all the help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top