Outlook Xpress not acting right.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
Hello everyone, seems like Outlook xpress has a problem again. I get an error window w/the yellow sign & exclamation point. It states : The host SMPT could not be found, please verify that you've entered the server name correctly. Acct: HTTP' server: SMTP, Protocol: SMTP, port 25, secure (SSL) nosocket error : 11001, error # 0x800CCC0D. :confused: I have win.98SE, I think. Dell Dim. L667r, 128 mem. 6+ speed.

I'm lost with this type of stuff. Any help is appreciated. :)
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi JoeLo

Acct: HTTP' server: SMTP, Protocol: SMTP, port 25, secure (SSL) nosocket error : 11001, error # 0x800CCC0D.
Is this the full error message?
If so, you may be missing the SMTP server setting.



Which ISP do you use?

Check your settings in Outlook Express,
Tools > Accounts > (AccountName) > Properties > Server tab

This link shows some server settings:
http://www.answersthatwork.com/ISP_pages/isps.htm


After verifying your account settings are correct, in the link below are other items that can interfere with Sending and Receiving of e-mail.

How to troubleshoot error messages that you receive when try to send and receive e-mail in Outlook and in Outlook Express

Can you logon to your ISP's mail server?


Let us know.
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
I have cable connection, ISP (Cablevision Optimum Online) Use IE to connect.
Went to Outlook x-press>tools>accts, no server tab only these the following tabs on top... All, Mail, News, Directory svc. On the right side... Add, Remove, Properties, Set as default, import, export, set order, close.
I'm getting 2 error messages now, the second one is the same as the first except it's referring to "HTTP" protocol, POP 3 error 101.
I haven't the slightest clue. :confused:
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
When the error message appears, click on the error message to select, then Right click, select Copy and paste the full error message here please.


In Outlook Express,
Tools > Accounts > Mail tab
Select your (AccountName)
Click Properties
Click on the Server tab

Are your Server settings similar to these?
Incoming mail (POP3): mail.optonline.net
Outgoing mail (SMTP): mail.optonline.net
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
Very well, let's see if I did this rigThe host 'HTTP' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'HTTP', Server: 'HTTP', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11001, Error Number: 0x800CCC0Dht...The host 'HTTP' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'HTTP', Server: 'HTTP', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11001, Error Number: 0x800The host 'SMTP' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'HTTP', Server: 'SMTP', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11001, Error Number: 0x800CCC0DCCC0D
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
You did fine, Thank You. :)
Your Server names appear to be missing.


In Outlook Express,
Tools > Accounts > Mail tab
Select your (AccountName)
Click Properties
Click on the Server tab

Are your Server settings similar to these?
Incoming mail (POP3): mail.optonline.net
Outgoing mail (SMTP): mail.optonline.net


Using the figure below as a guideline, insert the server names I posted in blue.
Under Server Information
Yours should say:
My incoming mail server is a POP3 server






Let us know what happens.
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
I think something is coming to light here, ok, When I go to >mail tab only 1 window w/heading "acct. server" HTTP is the only entry. Clicked on properties > server tab reveals incoming mail POP3> HTTP. outgoing> SMTP, nothing follows these. I changed acct. name to [email protected] because I don't like or use the optonline em acct. I regularly use Yahoo & Hotmail. Is that the reason I have this problem ? :rolleyes:
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Yes, the Server information is what Outlook Express uses to contact your mail server.

If you are not using your ISP's mail server then you probably will not need to use Outlook Express.

Is your Yahoo! account a free account?
If so, Yahoo! no longer supports using free POP access with Outlook Express or Microsoft Outlook.


You will need to access your Yahoo! account by visiting the Yahoo! site.

If you want POP access you will need to pay for an upgrade to your Yahoo! account.

To upgrade your Yahoo! account to Yahoo! Plus.
http://mailplus.mail.yahoo.com/help

This link shows how to configure Outlook to use a *Paid* Yahoo! account.
Use Outlook with Yahoo! Mail

Or, you can use YPOPs to download your Yahoo mail into Outlook Express.
Download YPOPs here:
http://yahoopops.sourceforge.net/mo...=Downloads&file=index&req=viewsdownload&sid=2


These links should get you started in configuring YPOPs and Outlook Express:

YPOPs! and Outlook Express

YPOPs! FAQs (frequently-asked questions)

Having problems with Ypops, Read this Sticky FAQ!!


If you would like, we can start off by first configuring Outlook Express to get messages from your ISP's mail server, then move on to configuring YPOP's if you decide to try it.

Having the e-mail account setup for your ISP would be a good idea as your ISP may send you messages from time to time.
They may be advertisements for reduced rates on your Internet connection, who knows? ;)
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
Oh, well now. yes I 've a free acct. Yahoo, also at msn Hotmail. I registered 1 w/optonline way back when but as I said, I don't care for it. The only thing that was troubling me was that everytime I attempt to respond to any of the sites e-mail I can't. For ex: Career Builder's job listings. I get that error message in outlook xpress. If necessary I'll do without, not'a problem after all. Thanks very much fella's.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
JoeLo said:
The only thing that was troubling me was that everytime I attempt to respond to any of the sites e-mail I can't. For ex: Career Builder's job listings. I get that error message in outlook xpress. If necessary I'll do without, not'a problem after all. Thanks very much fella's.
Yes, you will get an error since your system does not have a properly configured messaging program.
If you configure the optonline account in Outlook Express, then a new message window would pop up.

See if this is an option for you instead of Outlook Express:
How can I make Yahoo! Mail my default email application?

If you have a Gmail account, it can be set up in Outlook Express.
If you don't have a Gmail account and would like one, pm me with your e-mail address and I'll send you an invite.

Look here:
Control Panel > Internet Options > Programs tab
What options are listed for E-mail: ?
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
Hey, How r ya? been on vacation, then wrapped up w/some personal biz.
Just been considering your invite pal, I've come across a few using this G-mail
acct. I'm looking to terminate Hotmail anyway, too much junk mail it attracts.
How do I get started, at your prefered time of course. Thank you. ;)
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
Hey, How r ya? been on vacation, then wrapped up w/some personal biz.
Just been considering your invite pal, I've come across a few using this G-mail
acct. I'm looking to terminate Hotmail anyway, too much junk mail it attracts.
How do I get started, at your prefered time of course. Thank you. ;)My em:
[email protected]
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
I have sent you an invite, posting your e-mail address will get you more spam.
That is what private messages are for... :rolleyes:
 

JoeLo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
284
My risk, 'sides, I haven't used the site long enough(according> TSG) to send
a pm. Very well, nott'a prob. I can deal w/ unwanted messages jsut fine.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Let us know if you need help setting up Gmail in Outlook Express.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top