Outook Express won't display anything in the Preview Window

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

srcreations

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
4
Okay, this is driving me INSANE! I have OUtlook Express. Now I have version 6 because I upgraded trying to fix this problem, but no such luck.

All of a sudden, in Outlook, the preview plane is BLANK. Nothing there.....the header is there, but nothing in the Preview plane. I have to double click on a message and then Open it.

HELP!
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

There have been reports of this happening with system resources very low, and also with a Recycle Bin that's full.

It could also be due to some minor corruption in the registry.
Close Outlook EXpress, and download this small registry file to your desktop and then double-click it to repair the image files keys needed for preview to function properly.

http://www.tomsterdam.com/insideoe5/download/imagefix.reg

Good luck,
 

srcreations

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
4
I did that and there's no change. Do I have to restart teh computer for it to work? I'll try that now.
 

srcreations

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
4
Anything else I can try? The headers show up, but there is nothing in the preview plane at all....I need to be able to see my email....HELP!

:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Maybe Inbox.dbx or files therein are corrupted.

Close Outlook Express.

Go and find your Inbox.dbx file.
Rename it to Inbox.old.

Start up Outlook Express. A new Inbox.dbx will be created.

Good luck,
 

srcreations

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
4
This is so darn frustrating....nothing seems to fix it. Is there any other free email program that will allow me to check multiple accounts?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
This might be too simple but are these Hotmail accounts you are using in OE? If so, do you have it set to download only headers? If so, you won't see the message in the preview - you'll only see the message if you open it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top