1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Over 3GB in Temp Internet Files.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by 5thandlast, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Stupid question, but how the #### do you delete them using XP ???

    Every time I use search in XP, it can't find my temporary internet folder !!!
     
  2. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    open an IE window....tools/internet options...delete.
    Hit the settings button and set the amount of diskspace to use at around 40 mb.......windows default is a joke.

    ;)
     
  3. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Cheers.... But how the #### did I get 3GB worth ???
     
  4. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    Cant remember the default settings but it about 1.5 gigs.........yours may have been set higher.

    ;)
     
  5. GyBear

    GyBear

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    You could also check the box Empty Temporary Internet Files Folder when Browser is Closed (Found in Advanced tab under Security).
     
  6. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Isn't there any downloads that you can use to stop this sort of thing...?

    Some people have small memory, I'm lucky, I have 120 GB.
     
  7. LONGHAIR

    LONGHAIR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,525
    Hard Drive (disc) space is not the same as "memory".
    "Memory" is an electricly powered chip(s) that your programs and Operating System "use" while you are creating something. BUT if you close the program, shut off the computer or lose power with-out "saving" your work.............it's gone. "Saving" it stores it on your hard drive, thus you can retrieve it later.
     
  8. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Now it's saying that I can't access my Internet Options on Tools.

    [email protected] thing.

    Does it need to be unlocked?
     
  9. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Or does it need XP re-installing or something?
     
  10. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi 5thandlast,

    Can you access Internet Options via Start | Settings | Control Panel | Internet Options? If so all well and good. But if not, you may have been locked out of them by a hijacker.

    Download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

    This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  11. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Cheers Liam.

    It seems like I've been locked out...
     
  12. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Here you go...

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 13:10:38, on 23.10.2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
    C:\Programfiler\Fellesfiler\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\sstray.exe
    C:\Programfiler\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Programfiler\chello\ChelloMessenger.exe
    C:\Programfiler\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Programfiler\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
    C:\Programfiler\Kazaa Lite K++\KazaaLite.kpp
    C:\Programfiler\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Documents and Settings\Mark Gaughan\Programdata\Aladdin Systems\StuffIt\Temp\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://home.nor.chello.no/ssi/welcome/welcome.php?url=search
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://home.nor.chello.no/ssi/welcome/welcome.php?url=home
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://home.nor.chello.no/ssi/welcome/welcome.php?url=home
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer fra chello broadband n.v.
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName = Koblinger
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nForce Tray Options] sstray.exe /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Programfiler\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\System32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ChelloBackground] C:\Programfiler\chello\ChelloMessenger.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ChelloDesktop] C:\Programfiler\chello\ChelloDesktop.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\Programfiler\Winamp3\winampa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Programfiler\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Programfiler\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Programfiler\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://home.nor.chello.no/ssi/welcome/welcome.php?url=home
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {4BEE3896-4820-48D1-85EA-5A9A9ECD3D95} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/0fb5e03023def1/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9732FB42-C321-11D1-836F-00A0C993F125} (mhLabel Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/mhLbl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37862.5134837963
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F54C1137-5E34-4B95-95A5-BA56D4D8D743} (Secure Delivery) - http://www.gamespot.com/KDX/download/kdx.cab
     
  13. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Morn! 5thandlast, :)

    Do you use Spybot S&D? If so that is what has placed the restrictions on your machine. We'll unlock it for now anyway, so that you can make your adjustments. If they were put in place by Spybot, don't forget to set them up again afterwards. If not, we'll save that till we're done here.. (y)

    Please run a new HJT! Scan, and check to fix the following entries. Next, close all browser windows and click the Fix checked button…

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Programfiler\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Programfiler\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE

    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present

    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present


    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...meInstaller.exe

    O16 - DPF: {F54C1137-5E34-4B95-95A5-BA56D4D8D743} (Secure Delivery) - http://www.gamespot.com/KDX/download/kdx.cab


    The 06 entries are the restrictions placed on your machine.

    Then once fixed please reboot, and you should then be able to carry out the required changes in Internet Options. Once done, could you please download Spybot - Search & Destroy, from here if you haven't already got the program.

    Now press Settings, and Settings again. Go to the Webupdate section, and check "Display also available beta versions".

    Now press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds marked RED.

    That should be the lot.. :)

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  14. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Done it... Bang on the money.

    Already had Spybot and Spywear...
     
  15. 5thandlast

    5thandlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Do I have to do anything else now buddy?

    Being English abroad when you don't speak Norwegian can be a kick in the nuts when phoning for IT help.

    BTW- Do I really need Adaware, Spybot and SpywearBlaster?

    If not, which one do I delete?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173280

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice