1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclock Performance Error/Black Screen

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Mirage0701, Nov 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mirage0701

    Mirage0701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hello. A couple of days ago I went into my system's Bios and made all settings optimized to default. I shouldn't have done this but I thought it might help my computer's performance. It only made things worse. So last night I went into Bios again, but there was one problem... I was drunk. I didn't see any improvements in my computer's performance so I decided to see what increasing my cpu Mhz would do. I set it from 200 to 250 since it showed that the max was 425. I saved and exited and when it restarted, I got a message and an offset screen resolution saying "Warning! Overclock performance failure. Press any key to continue." So I hit a key and nothing happened. So I shut off my computer. Now, everytime I turn it on, the computer powers up, but the monitor stays black. I know there is nothing wrong with my monitor since it is still new. Anyone know what I should do?? :(

    it was a computer that was built for me by an old friend.
    Here are the only specs I know by heart.

    MSI motherboard
    AMD Athlon 3600+ X2
    Nvidia 7600GT
    4Gb Ram
    580Gb Hard Drive space
     
  2. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    Hi and welcome to TSGF try tapping F2 on boot and try to get back into the bios and reset it to defaults and see how that goes
     
  3. hockeyfreak863

    hockeyfreak863

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    If you feel confident enough to diy open up the computer, and unplug all the power connections going into the motherboard, unplug the cd drive hard drive etc from the mother board. Then remove the CMOS battery looks like a little watch battery and wait one minute, that should reset the bios and set your computer back to default settings
     
  4. Mirage0701

    Mirage0701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you very much for the welcome, and thank you HockeyFreak. That did the trick. I appreciate your help! Happy Thanksgiving.
     
  5. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    Good call hockeyfreak863,glad your sorted Mirage0701
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/880643

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice