1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

overclocking a amd 2400 athlon processor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by filip1noy, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. filip1noy

    filip1noy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    I just recieved my custom built pc from cybersystem and i'd like to know how to overclock this processor my friend told me that i have a slow pc.. :eek:

    here are the specs to my pc:

    ATOP ATX833-BLACK CASE 350 WATT W/ SIDE-PANEL WINDOW
    AMD Athlon XP-2400+ Processor
    ASUS A7N8X-X nVidia nForce-2 400 FSB 8X AGP w/ USB2.0, LAN, &; AUDIO
    512 MB (256MBx2) PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR MEMORY
    80GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HARD DRIVE
     
  2. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    I think that you should tell your friend to keep their eyes on their own screen! ;^)

    If you just got this 'custom built' PC and it's too slow (for YOUR needs)...you bought the wrong configuration. Jumping to the conclusion that you are not very PC Hardware knowledgeable at this time, I would suggest that you not attempt to FRY your new system just yet.

    Enjoy it for a while, read up on Overclocking...there are forums that specialize in that.. and then decide if you want to engage in it.

    But MOST OF ALL, don't do it because someone ELSE tells you that your PC is too slow!!!
     
  3. filip1noy

    filip1noy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    well its what i can afford my budget is under 500 dollars
     
  4. 4steve44

    4steve44

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    Can you afford to fry your processor :eek: :)
     
  5. 4steve44

    4steve44

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    winbob gave you some very sage advice. I would use if I were you. :)
     
  6. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    You may be able to overclock a little, but you most likely wouldn't get much gain from overclocking that cpu.. You're best bet would be to set the fsb to 200 in the bios, and the multiplier at 10 so that it's still a 2400+, just useing a 400mhz FSB. You would see more gain from running a 400mhz FSB than overclocking the chip..
     
  7. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    If your running a locked multiplier, I would leave it as it is..
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272871

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice