1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking AMD Sempron

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jackdw, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackdw

jackdw Thread Starter

I have an AMD Sempron 3000+ 1.8ghz on a foxcconn 760GXK8MC motherboard. It's socket 754. Old I know, but not too old.

I have 1gb of RAM, a 512mb graphics card. I think the CPU is the weakest point at the moment. But to upgrade the CPU, you usually have to upgrade the motherboard. I was thinking of going dual-core anyway and that isn't socket 754.

Is there anyway I can overclock my CPU safely? I have NEVER done this before so I would appreciate a step-by-step thing....

Thanks
    Jack

2. jackdw

jackdw Thread Starter

Bump anyone?

3. brite750

brite750

well there really is no such thing as "safely" overclocking always entails some risk of damage to cpu, mb, ram, etc., and that risk goes up dramatically for inexperienced overclockers. overclocking the cpu is basically done by bumping up the fsb of the MB from stock settings, in many cheap mb this is done at your own peril, oc'ing typically requires fairly robust hardware, in the way of mb, ram. Does your MB even allow bumping fsb and can you do the fsb independantly from the agp bus otherwise you are effectively oc'ing the gfx card as well causing it to be under stress. then there is the heat issue depending on the oc level achieved you may very well need an after market hsf for your cpu and gfx card and maybe even your northbridge chipset.